Special Correspondent

Nila asserted her fighting abilities

Some established names had to bite the dust

NEW DELHI: Sindhu Nila of Tamil Nadu knocked out the fifth-seeded Rani Smita Jain 6-7(1), 6-2, 6-2 in the first round of the DSCL National women’s tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Monday.

On a day when Sania Mirza was the cynosure of all eyes, as she continued to practice at the venue as part of her rehabilitation programme for her wrist, some of the established names and young talent had to bite the dust.

While the 16-year-old Nila asserted her fighting abilities to bounce back after losing the first set, the second-seeded Sweta Kumari Solanki, the finalist last week in the National junior championship was able to dismiss the challenge from the seasoned Sonal Phadke.

Good fight

In fact, Sonal’s younger sister, Sagarika put up a better fare, but she too did not have the answers in the decider against the eighth-seeded Treta Bhattacharya.

The Phadke sisters can salvage some pride as they figure as the top-seeds in the doubles and have a direct entry into the quarterfinals.

Equally, the top-seeded Shalini Sahoo did not break into a sweat in beating the wild card entrant, the talented left-hander from Maharashtra, Soniya Dayal, for the loss of five games.

Qualifier Sowjanya Bavisetti of Andhra Pradesh was equally impressive in moving past the sixth-seeded Dipti Srivastava of West Bengal.

Two lucky-losers Likitha Shetty and Mokshada Jain were able to pull through into the pre-quarterfinlas, while qualifier Shweta Chandra Rana got past D. Harshini Reddy with a touch of assurance, for the loss of two games.

The results (first round): Shalini Sahoo bt Soniya Dayal 6-3, 6-2; Arantxa Andrady bt Jeni Patel 6-1, 6-3; Likitha Shetty bt Prerna Pratap 6-4, 6-2; Sowjanya Bavisetti bt Dipti Srivastava 6-4, 7-5.

Anushree Thammanna bt Arushi Sharma 6-4, 6-4; Ratnika Batra bt Prarthana Prathap 6-1, 6-1; Mokshada Jain bt Nithya Baburaj 6-1, 6-4. P. A. Sindhu Nila bt Rani Smita Jain 6-7(1), 6-2, 6-2; Geeta Manohar bt Jilke Nelord 6-1, 6-0; Gopika Kapoor bt Tanvi Gupta 6-0, 6-1; Sayali Bhilare bt Rachita Sarda 6-4, 3-6, 6-0; Abhilasha Ahuja bt Omlata Rai Kumari 6-2, 6-0.

Treta Bhattacharya bt Sagarika Phadke 6-2, 3-6, 6-4; Shweta Chandra Rana bt D. Harshini Reddy 6-1, 6-1; Kesika Jayapalan bt Shilpi Jaiswal 6-1, 6-2; Sweta Kumari Solanki bt Sonal Phadke 6-2, 6-4.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper