Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Mayank Sidhana and Uday Kaul kept Punjab in the hunt with innings of maturity on the second day of the Ranji Trophy super league here on Wednesday.

Railways, resuming at 191 for six, added 85 runs more on Wednesday morning with Karan Sharma making a substantial contribution of 59 off 139 balls with six fours. He later accounted for two wickets with his leg-spin.

Punjab, needing a draw to make it to the knockout stage, lost Ravi Inder Singh cheaply but Sunny Sohal (30 off 41 balls with five fours, dominated the second wicket partnership.

It was then left to Sidhana and Kaul (46 batting off 158 balls with three fours) and they responded with a partnership of 96 runs for the third wicket.

The tall Sidhana, who learnt his cricket in Delhi and shifted to Punjab, revelled with his drives. His 54 came off 170 balls with six fours.

Punjab suffered two quick dismissals when Sidhana and the in-form Pankaj Dharmani fell to Karan Sharma. It was a good comeback by Railways which needs a victory here to qualify for the next stage.

The scores: Railways — 1st innings: F. Fazal c and b R. Sharma 87, V. Cheluvaraj b R. Sharma 18, S. Bangar b R. Sharma 17, T.P. Singh c and b Ladha 6, Y. Goud lbw b R. Sharma 0, H. Rawle c Kaul b R. Sharma 17, M. Suresh c Sohal b Rajwinder 38, K. Sharma (not out) 59, R. Deb c Rajwinder b R. Sharma 13, M. Kartik c Rajwinder b Ladha 8, K. Upadhyay c R. Sharma b Rajwinder 0; Extras: (b-6, lb-7) 13; Total: (in 91 overs) 276.

Fall of wickets: 1-103, 2-122, 3-139, 4-139, 5-140, 6-176, 7-213, 8-242, 9-271.

Punjab bowling: L. Ablish 7-0-46-0, Rajwinder Singh 36-11-76-2, R. Sharma 28-1-92-6, S. Ladha 10-1-31-2, R.I. Singh 6-1-7-0, M. Sidhana 4-0-11-0.

Punjab — 1st innings: S. Sohal b Kartik 30, R.I. Singh b Bangar 1, M. Sidhana c Deb b K. Sharma 54, U. Kaul (batting) 46, P. Dharmani c Deb b K. Sharma 0, T. Kohli (batting) 13; Extras: (b-4, lb-2, nb-4) 10: Total: (for four wickets in 69 overs) 154.

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-37, 3-123, 4-127.

Railways bowling: Upadhyay 8-0-29-0, Bangar 8-2-22-1, Kartik 28-6-45-1, K. Sharma 15-5-39-2, Suresh 6-2-9-0, Rawle 4-0-4-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper