Shreema Priyadarshini hogs limelight

print   ·   T  T  

Our Correspondent

Mysore: Shreema Priyadarshini, the lanky 22-year old Southern Railway athlete from Mangalore, representing Mysore Division, hogged the limelight on the second day of the three-day Dussera Games by winning three golds in the women’s athletics events at the Chamundivihar stadium.

Shreema has totally won four golds (including the 200m gold on the first day). She started with her gold winning effort in the discus with a throw of 37.98m. She went on to comfortably pocket the 100m hurdles gold with a timing of 14.49s. She then anchored the 4x100m Mysore team to the gold with a timing of 50.1s.

Bangalore City’s 19-year-old M. Arshad, a I BA student of Al-Ameen College won his second gold (he had won the long jump on the first day) with a leap of 14.81m in the triple jump.

No new records were created on the second day.

In the half-marathon, Soji Mathew of S.A.I., Bangalore won with ease. Shabeena of Shimoga took home the women’s title.

Mysore’s day

Out of 10 gold medals at stake on the second day, Mysore division bagged eight, Bangalore City four and Belgaum one. In the team games, Mysore won the tennis gold in both the men’s and women’s sections beating Bangalore City 2-1 in both the finals. Bangalore Rural took the bronze in both the sections.

In swimming, Bangalore City’s Aditya Roshan (2 golds & one silver) and Pratima Kolali (four golds) hogged the limelight in the men’s and women’s section.

The results:

Athletics: Men: 800m: 1. Ranjith Rai (Mys)1:59.06s; 2. Vishwambhar (City); 3. D. Raghu (City).

110m hurdles: 1. Amith Yadhav S. (City) 15.30s; 2. Mahindra Rao J. (Mys); 3. Samrath Sadashiv (Mys).

Discus: 1. Rajiv Mishra (Bgm) 41.72m; 2. B.C. Rajeev (Rural); 3. Nandeesh (Mys).

Triple jump: 1. M. Arshad (City) 14.81m; 2. Sandesh B. Punja (Mys); 3. Raja Shahed Bagawan (Bgm).

4x100m relay: 1. City 43.05; 2. Belgaum.

Women: 800m: 1. Jyothi Kolaker (City) 2:23.06s; 2. Indira (City); 3. Y.N. Tesoniy (Mys).

100m hurdles: 1. Shreema Priyadarshini (Mys) 14:99.00s; 2. Namitha S. Rai (Mys); 3. Raksha (City).

Discus: 1. Shreema Priyadarshini (Mys) 37.98m; 2. S. Sushma (Mys); 3. Adira Varkey (Rural).

Triple jump: 1. Akshaya (Mys) 12.00m; 2. Joyline M. Lobo (Mys); 3. Bhavana Mandanna (Mys).

4x100m relay: 1. Mysore 50.1s; 2. City; 3. Rural.

Half marathon: Men (21.1km): 1. Soji Mathew (SAI, Bangalore) 1:05.2s; 2. Mukush Kumar Yadava (SAI, Bangalore); 3. Angad Kumar (SAI, Bangalore); 4. P.M. Shanavaz (MEG, Bangalore); 5. S. Siddappa (WR); 6. Shekappa Mudigowdar (SWR).

Women (21.1km): 1. Shabeena (Shimoga) 1:30.00s; 2. A. Deepika (Alvas, Mudabidre); 3. Hemalatha (Shimoga); 4. Abhilasha (D.K., Ujre); 5. Chitravathi (Alwas); 6. Yashodha (Bijapur).

College boys (12km): 1. Basavaraj T. (DYSS, B’lore), 39:22.03s; 2. Ramesh B. Kuruvatti (Haveri); 3. P.G. Yashwanth (Alwas).

College girls (6km): 1.K.C. Mamatha (Alwas) 23:00.57s; 2. Yashaswini (DYSS, Mys); 3. Shradharani S. Desai (DYSS, Mys).

High School boys (6km): 1. Mailar M. Alagawadi (Dharwad) 21:13.30s; 2. Rayappa F. Dhasanal (SH, Kudige); 3. H. Gajendra (SH, Kudige).

High School girls (3km): 1. R. Chaitra (Kuvempunagar School, Mysore) 11:00.00s; 2. K. Anusha (Mandya); 3. K.R. Meghana (MG, Mysore).

Best Physique: ‘Sri Dasara-2009’: S. Anand, Udipi.

Other results: Men: Tennis: Final: Mysore bt Bangalore City 2-1 ( Suraj R. Prabodh bt V. Santosh 5-7, 6-2, 6-3; Vaibhav V. lost to Suraj B. 1-6, 1-6; Suraj R. Prabodh & Ramesh bt Suraj B. & Parask 6-4, 5-7, 10-6. Third Place: Bangalore Rural.

Basketball: Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 93-63; Mysore bt Belgaum 72-62; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 91-69; Mysore bt Bangalore Rural 91-89.

Football: Mysore bt Gulbarga 5-0; Bangalore rural bt Gulbarga 2-0; Mysore drew with Belgaum 0-0; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 2-0; Bangalore Rural drew with Belgaum 1-1; Bangalore City drew with Bangalore Rural 0-0; Gulbarga drew with Belgaum 0-0.

Hockey: Bangalore Rural bt Gulbarga 2-1; Belgaum bt Mysore 3-2; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 6-0.

Handball: Bangalore Rural bt Gulbarga 40-7; Bangalore Rural bt Belgaum 28-10; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 60-8; Mysore bt Bangalore Rural 18-15; Mysore bt Belgaum 20-13.

Kabaddi: Mysore bt Gulbarga 24-6; Bangalore City bt Belgaum 23-21; Bangalore Rural bt Gulbarga 31-21; Bangalore City bt Mysore 29-27; Gulbarga bt Belgaum 25-22; Bangalore Rural bt Mysore 29-17.

Ball badminton: Bangalore City bt Belgaum 27-29, 29-19, 29-24; Gulbarga bt Mysore 29-20, 29-20.

Table tennis: Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 2-0; Belgaum bt Gulbarga 3-0; Mysore bt Belgaum 3-0; Mysore bt Bangalore City 3-1; Belgaum bt Bangalore Rural 3-1; Bangalore City bt Belgaum 3-1; Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 3-0.

Women: Tennis: Final: Mysore bt Bangalore City 2-1 (Anupama Rajur lost to Preeti Ujjaini 2-6, 0-6; M.R. Chirashanthi bt Surya Suresh 6-2, 6-2; M.R. Chirashanthi & Anupama bt Preethi & Surya Suresh 6-1, 6-1).

Ball badminton: Mysore bt Belgaum 29-8, 29-1; Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 29-14, 29-18.

Basketball: Bangalore City bt Belgaum 44-20; Mysore bt Gulbarga 22-0; Bangalore Rural bt Gulbarga 25-3.

Hockey: Mysore bt Belgaum 8-4; Mysore bt Bangalore Rural 11-2; Bangalore City bt Belgaum 10-2; Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 25-3.

Kabaddi: Bangalore Rural bt Belgaum 43-20; Mysore bt Gulbarga 31-2; Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 33-11; Mysore bt Belgaum 45-16; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 58-8; Bangalore Rural bt Mysore 16-10; Mysore bt Bangalore City 19-17.

Table tennis: Mysore bt Bangalore City 3-1; Bangalore City bt Gulbarga 3-1; Belgaum bt Bangalore Rural 3-0; Mysore bt Gulbarga 3-0; Bangalore City bt Bangalore Rural 3-2; Belgaum bt Gulbarga 3-0; Mysore bt Bangalore Rural 3-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Piloting Australia to the acme

“There’s a chance I may never play again,” said Michael Clarke had said in Adelaide last December.The Australian captain’s words,... »