Sharath Kamal runs away with the men’s singles title

print   ·   T  T  
A. Sharath Kamal.
A. Sharath Kamal.

Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: A. Sharath Kamal completed the job of winning the men’s singles title in style in the PSCB inter-unit table tennis tournament here on Saturday.

Already hard pressed for time (he had an early flight to catch to take part in a tournament in Dubai), Sharath first swept aside Ranbir Das in quick time in the semifinals and then sought the final to be advanced by a few hours. With the other finalist Subhajit Saha accepting the request, the final was rescheduled and the story again remained the same. Subhajit did pick the first game, but that was about the farthest he could go as Sharath re-enacted his show in the last National championship final (the two had played the title round) with a fluent win to clinch the title.

The women’s singles gives the hope of K. Shamini making an impression. Shamini did well to check Vishaka Vijay of ONGC. In the final, she will meet Neha Agarwal of BPCL who beat T. Pradeepa of IOC in straight games.

The results: Men: Final: A. Sharath Kamal (IOC) bt Subhajit Saha (OIL) 6-11, 11-7, 11-7, 11-5, 12-10; Semifinals: Sharath Kamal bt Ranbir Das (ONGC) 11-3, 11-5, 11-8, 11-5; Subhajit Saha bt Subham Choudhary (ONGC) 12-10, 11-8, 13-11, 11-7. Doubles: Final: Jubin Kumar & Devesh Karia (OIL) bt Subhajit Saha & Anal Kashyap 11-8 concd. Semifinals: Subhajit Saha & Anal Kashyap bt Arunava Ganguly & Subhadeep Das (ONGC) 11-6, 11-9, 5-11, 11-1; Jubin Kumar & Devesh Karia bt Subham Choudary & Ranbir Das (ONGC) 11-6, 11-13, 11-4, 11-7.

Women: Semifinals: Neha Agarwal (BPCL) bt T. Pradeepa (IOC) 11-9, 11-5, 11-3, 11-7; K. Shamini (IOC) bt Vishaka Vijay (ONGC) 11-9, 11-9, 11-8, 11-6. Doubles: Final: Poulami Ghatak & Neha Agarwal (BPCL) bt Mousami Paul & Madhurika Patkar (ONGC) 11-9, 11-9, 13-11. Semifinals: Poulami Ghatak & Neha Agarwal bt Vishaka Vijay & J. Swarna (ONGC) 11-3, 9-11, 11-4, 7-11, 14-12; Mousami Paul & Madhurika Patkar bt Mouma Das & Nandita Saha (OIL) 11-8, 9-11, 11-3, 11-7.

Mixed doubles: Semifinals: Nandita Saha & Subhajit Saha (OIL) bt J. Swarna & Ranbir Das (ONGC) 11-5, 9-11, 11-9, 11-13, 11-9; Vishaka Vijay & Subham Choudhary (ONGC) bt Mousami Paul & Arunava Ganguly (ONGC) 6-11, 9-11, 11-7, 11-4, 11-6.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Sarjubala, Pinki strike gold

Rounding off a reasonably successful campaign for India, S. Sarjubala (48kg) and Pinki Jangra (51kg) clinched gold medals at the 22nd Pre... »