Seraha Jacob of AYTTA won a triple in the second Stag-YMCA all-Kerala Open prize money table tennis tournament which concluded at the YMCA hall here on Sunday.

On the final day, Seraha won the titles in youth and women’s categories to complete the triple.

Seraha defeated Shika Jacob in both the finals. She had defeated Maria Rony to win the junior title on Saturday.

Nithin Narayan of KRPMTTA staged a fine recovery after being down by two sets to beat Anaz Irshad of AYTTA to lift the men’s singles title.

Nithin, who was down 1-3, won the next three sets to pocket the title 12-10, 9-11, 8-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-6.

The men’s singles witnessed a big upset when top-seed M. Harikrishnan was beaten in the quarterfinals by Mishal Dilawar who lost to Anaz Irshad in the semifinals. M. Harikrishnan won the youth title after defeating Bharath Krishnan in the final.

The results:

Men (final): Nithin Narayan (KRPMTTA) bt Anaz Irshad (AYTTA) 12-10, 9-11, 8-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-6.

Semifinals: Anaz Irshad (AYTTA) bt Mishal Dilawar (RSC) 11-7, 9-11, 11-6, 8-11, 11-9, 4-11, 11-8; Nithin Narayan (KRPMTTA) bt Ranjith Benny (Tvm) 7-11, 11-9, 11-7, 7-11, 9-11, 11-1, 11-9.

Youth (finals): M.Harikrishnan (Tvm) bt Bharath Krishnan (Tvm) 11-8, 11-6, 12-14, 11-6, 11-6.

Semifinals: M. Harikrishnan (Tvm) bt Nithin Narayan (KRPMTTA) 11-8, 11-3, 11-7, 6-11, 11-6; Bharath Krishnan (Tvm) bt Mishal Dilawar (RSC) 11-5, 11-9, 11-9, 7-11, 11-9.

Boys: Juniors (finals): Bharath Krishnan (Tvm) bt Mishal Dilawar (RSC) 11-6, 11-8, 9-11, 11-7, 11-7.

Semifinals: Mishal Dilawar (RSC) bt Rohit Binu Mathew (AYTTA) 9-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-9, 7-11, 11-8; Bharath Krishnan (Tvm) bt Anaz Irshad (AYTTA) 11-4, 8-11, 11-5,11-6, 11-6).

Women (finals): Seraha Jacob (AYTTA) bt Shika Jacob (AYTTA) 11-5, 11-8, 11-6, 11-6.

Semifinals: Shika Jacob (AYTTA) bt Maria Rony (AYTTA) 13-11, 14-12, 11-7, 12-10; Seraha Jacob (AYTTA) bt Gia Anna George (AYTTA) 11-9, 11-9, 11-5, 11-9.

Youth (finals): Seraha Jacob (AYTTA) bt Shika Jacob (AYTTA) 5-11, 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 11-3, 7-11, 11-9.

Semifinals: Seraha Jacob (AYTTA) bt Gia Anna George (AYTTA) 11-7, 9-11, 11-6, 7-11, 11-6; Shika Jacob (AYTTA) bt Maria Rony (AYTTA) 11-7, 11-8, 11-7, 8-11, 11-8.

Easy for Anirudh

Top seed Anirudh Jaindhan crushed Nivin Varghese 9-0 in the second round in the under-18 boys’ singles in the 54th K.G. Menon memorial all-Kerala tennis tournament at the TTC courts on Sunday.

One-sided matches were the order of the day as Raj Narayanan R. Pillai, Rijul Rauf, Jeffy Jacob, Jithin George and Ashiq Hussain moved into the third round without much sweat.

The results (second round)

Boys: Under-18: Anirudh Jaindhan bt Nivin Varghese 9-0; Raj Narayanan R. Pillai bt Willam C. Francis 9-3; Rijul Rauf bt M.C. Midhun 9-2; Jeffy Jacob bt M. Adarsh 9-1; Jithin George bt Anand Yesodharan 9-2; Ashiq Hussain bt N.G. Sinu 9-2.

Under-16: Sidharth Anilkumar bt Hari Swaroop 9-1; M.C. Midhun bt Sean Michael Jose 9-3; Ram Narayan bt J. Nithin 9-7; R.K. Adithya bt Pon Dharmaraj 9-1; Jithin George bt Govind Hari 9-0; Kevin John Cherian bt Rishi Kalesh 9-2; Anand Yesodharan bt Ananthu S. Nair 9-2; Raj Narayanan R. Pillai bt Jaiwardhan Menon 9-1.

Under-14: Dayan J. Madhu bt Abhilash 8-0; P. Prasoon bt Abhishek Thomas Mathew 8-6; Allan John bt J. Nithin 8-6; Taraun T. Kurian bt J. Nithin 8-6; Rishi Kalesh bt Adithya Binu Ramesh 5-0 (conceded); R. Gautham Krishnan bt Sherjas 8-1; J. Sidharth bt Govind Hari 8-3; Sidharth Anilkumar bt Ashwin Cleetus 8-1; V. Vaisakh bt Hari Swaroop 8-2; Sheen Micheal Jose bt Rohit Sunil 8-2.

Under-12: G.S. Sanjay bt Noor 7-1; Akhilendran bt Sabarinath 7-2; Sherjas bt Sivasankar 7-3; V. Vaisakh bt A.J. Sidharth 7-1.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper