M. Senthil Kumar edged out A. Surendran in a high-scoring contest to emerge the category (0-18) nett winner of the Manchester Cup golf tournament, played in Stableford singles format, at the Coimbatore Golf Club course.

The results: Category 0-18: Nett: 1. M. Senthil Kumar 43 pts; 2. A. Surendran 42. Wooden spoon: Raam Prasad D. Kota 24 pts. 19-30: 1. Prassadh Shanmugham 43 pts; 2. V. Ayyachamy 40. Wooden spoon: S. Venkatachalam 20. sArun Alagar 36 pts .

Ajay scalps five

Medium pacer Ajay Kumar's timely five-wicket haul enabled Vidhya Niketan score a convincing seven-wicket win over Trinity MHSS in the CDCA inter-school under-16 cricket tournament for the N. Giridhari Prasad Trophy at the PSGIMSR grounds on Monday.

The scores: Trinity MHSS 44 in 9.5 overs (Ajay Kumar five for 24) lost to Vidhya Niketan 45 for three in 8.4 overs (T. Vignesh three for 13); Satchidananda Jothi Niketan w/o Chinmaya IRS; Sri Ramakrishna MHSS 155 for nine (P. Sathish five for 22) bt GBHSS (Chettipalayam) 73 in 18.4 overs (Narendra Kumar three for 22, Prasanth three for 6) .

Mani HSS prevails

Mani HSS scored a hard-fought 25-18, 26-24 win over Suguna RIP V School to clinch the title in the 12th Venkatesalu Memorial volleyball tournament at the Suguna RIP V School courts recently.

Prem Kumar slams 114

Prem Kumar hit a fine 114 as Bharathiyar Cricket Club scored a handsome 146-run win over Lakshmi Mills Colony Cricket Club in the TNCA-DCAT second division league for the DCAT Rolling Trophy in Palladam recently.

The scores: First division (Nachimuthu Rolling Trophy): Thrillers CC 175 in 48.5 overs (B. Sathish 51, Ramakrishnan 42, Bazir Mohammed four for 36, J. Saravanan three for 45) bt Tirupur Textiles RC 163 in 48.1 overs (Sridhar Venkatesh 30, Bright five for 32); Tirupur CC 129 in 32.1 overs bt Lucky Star CC 131 for nine in 46.5 overs (R. Senthil 68 not out, Thangarajan three for 16, Sathish Prabhu three for 24); GIO Sports ‘A' 125 in 29.3 overs (Nawal Pujari 52, P. Ramu five for 30) bt Kalki CC 130 for five in 32.5 overs (B. Srikanth 45, Asfaq 40).

Second division (DCAT Rolling Trophy: Bharathiyar CC 239 in 50 overs (Prem Kumar 114, P. Balashanmugam three for 42, Vijayakumar three for 60) bt Lakshmi Mills Colony CC 93 in 24.2 overs (Prakash four for 29); Evershine CC 263 in 43.5 overs (Loganathan 63, M. Karthikeyan 47, S. Vijay seven for 40) bt Aiyanar CC 233 in 47 overs (S. Mohan Raj 75, M. Dinesh three for 32) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper