Palakkad: Host Palakkad cashed in on Thrissur's shoddy batting display to post a four-wicket win in the Central Zone senior inter-district cricket tournament at the Fort Maidan grounds here on Monday.

Thrissur, which won the toss, started off on a disastrous note, losing four quick wickets.

Spinners Surjith M. Das and C. Ramesh (three for 24) further spun a vicious web to bundle out the opposition for paltry 122 in 38.5 overs.

The host began on a similar fashion losing three quick wickets. However, Krishna Chandran (30), Sajith Muralitharan (30) and Pradeep (30) played sensibly to steer the team to its second victory.

The scores: Thrissur 122 in 38.5 overs (Sreekumar Nair 33, C. Ramesh three for 24) lost to Palakkad 125 for six in 30.5 overs (Krishna Chandran 30, Sajith Muralitharan 30, Pradeep 30).

Ajay Kudua shines

Ranji star Ajay Kudua made an unbeaten 72 (68 ba-lls, 7x4, 2x6) as Swantons CC defeated host Cordiant Tripunithura CC `B' by eight wickets in a rain-hit first phase quarterfinal of the 56th Pooja all-India cricket tournament at the Tripunithura Palace Oval on Monday.

Put in, Tripunithura made 218 for nine in the allotted 45 overs with Ibrahim Kutty making a fine 74. Later, with rain coming down, Swantons' target was reduced to 176 and that turned out to be easy.

The scores: Cordiant Tripunithura CC `B' 218 for nine in 45 overs (Ibrahim Kutty 74) lost to Swantons CC (Ernakulam) 176 for two in 34 overs (Ajay Kudua 72 not out).

Inter-school meet

The 20th Refinian Cup inter-school cricket tournament, conducted by the Cochin Refineries School for Sahodaya schools in Kochi, begins at the Kochi Refinery Oval, Ambalamugal, on Wednesday.

Seventeen teams will figure in the event which will be inaugurated by Prasad Clemence, Manager (Sports), BPCL Kochi Refinery.

The tournament concludes on October 20.

Kannur triumphs

Host Kannur won the North Zone senior inter-district cricket championship, beating Kozhikode by six wickets in Thalassery on Monday.

The scores: Kozhikode 158 in 39.1 overs lost to Kannur 160 for four in 38 overs (Vilas N. Kutty 68 not out, Vipin Lal 45).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper