Bayern Munich midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger pipped teammates Franck Ribery and Thomas Mueller to the journalists’ player of the year award, Kicker magazine announced on Sunday. Schweinsteiger picked up 92 out of 527 votes, with Ribery on 87 and Mueller on 85. “I’m a little surprised, to be fair. There were times when certain articles were mostly critical of me,” he said.

Treble winner Bayern provided nine of the top 15 players in the awards list, with Bundesliga runner-up Borussia Dortmund filling five of the remaining berths.

Only Bayern Leverkusen centre-forward Stefan Kiessling, who was the league’s top scorer last season with 25 goals, managed to break the top two’s hegemony. — AFP

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper