CHENNAI: R. Sathish's undefeated 108 kept Jolly Rovers in the contest against Vijay on the first day of a TNCA first-division semifinal match at RKM-Vivekananda.

Sathish's fifth hundred of the season — and his third in three matches — enabled Rovers finish on 266 for five from 90 overs. Sathish raised 89 with Ajay Kudua for the unbroken sixth wicket to rescue Rovers, which had been reduced to 177 for five.

Sathish's 211-ball innings, which featured 14 fours, furthered his season's tally to 993 runs. S. Vidyut earlier scored 51 (79b, 9x4), putting on 72 for the first wicket with Petson Mathews, before top-edging a hook off a P. Amarnath short delivery to be caught.

Vijay medium-pacer S. Suresh, who snared Maaruthi Raghav and Gowjith Subhash in an over after lunch, finished with figures of two for 32. The other wicket-takers for Vijay were seamer Gautham and off-spinner R. Ashwin.

In the other semifinal, played at CPT-IP, left-arm spinner V. Arun Kumar returned figures of six for 75 as Grand Slam dismissed Globe Trotters for 233 to gain control of the match.

Arun Kumar, who crossed the 50-wicket mark for the season, took three wickets, including that of top-scorer S. Sriram (58, 86b, 8x4), during a period of play that saw Trotters slump from 144 for three to 158 for seven. Seamer M. Raja supported Arun Kumar's efforts by claiming three wickets.

Sriram had earlier helped his side recover from 52 for three, building a partnership of 82 with Sunil Viswanathan. V. Yomahesh, with 46, was the only other Trotters batsman who passed 40.

Grand Slam finished the day on 59 for no loss, J. Madanagopal remaining unbeaten on 42.

The scores (semifinals): At RKM-Vivekananda: Jolly Rovers 266 for five in 90 overs (S. Vidyut 51, R. Sathish 108 batting) vs. Vijay.

At CPT-IP: Globe Trotters 233 in 71.2 overs (S. Sriram 58, V. Yomahesh 46, V. Arun Kumar six for 75) vs. Grand Slam 59 for no loss (J. Madanagopal 42 batting) .

Abhishek hits century

Abhishek Venkatesh's unbeaten 103 helped Prahlad ‘A' beat Chennai CA by 56 runs in the Prahlad under-10 cricket tournament held here on Friday.

Bhargav S. Rao's all-round effort (65 & three for 23) ensured Little Hearts defeated Prahlad ‘B' by 39 runs in another match.

The scores: Little Hearts CA 155 for five in 25 overs (Bhargav S. Rao 65) bt Prahlad CC ‘B' 116 for eight in 25 overs (B. Kaushic Aravind 27, Bhargav S. Rao three for 23); Prahlad CC ‘A' 170 for one in 25 overs (Abhishek Venkatesh 103 n.o., Siddarth Ganesh 40 n.o.) bt Chennai CA 114 in 24.4 overs (S. Shyam Sundar 31, R. Keshav three for 15, N. Shiva Kumar three for 21) .

Khan's CA

scrapes through

Khan's CA managed a one-run win over Adambakkam CA in an exciting match in the Kedar Jayalakshmi under-11 cricket tournament being held here.

Khan's made 157 for six and Adambakkam CA could reach only 156 for six in the allotted 25 overs.

The scores: Khan's CA 157 for six in 25 overs (Adnan 80 n.t.) bt Adambakkam CA 156 for six in 25 overs (Saravana 41, Ethiraj three for 29); Kedar CA ‘B' 178 for seven in 25 overs (P.B. Athindra 29) bt Loyola CA 44 in 12.5 overs (Dev Nikunj five for 13); Abdul Jabbar CA 153 for seven in 25 overs (Soorya 88) bt Adambakkam CA 128 in 20.5 overs (Yuvan four for 23); Kedar CA ‘A' 233 for three in 25 overs (Vidhur 62, Vignesh Balaji 79 Vairavan 35) bt Khan's CA 159 for seven in 25 overs (S Abhisekh three for six) .

Vignesh sizzles

E. Vignesh's unbeaten century propelled SDAT to a 94-run win over Kanniah CA in a match of the Star CC under-14 cricket tournament.

The scores: Sanjeevi 127 for seven in 25 overs (N. Bharat Bhushan 44, K.S. Mani three for 16) bt Swaraj 110 in 24.3 overs (Abishek three for 26, Bharat Bhushan four for 13); SDAT 220 for one in 25 overs (E. Vignesh 107 n.o., P. Natarajan 37, K. Ratnasabapathi 34 n.o.) bt Kannaiah 126 in 25 overs (Sachin 56) .

Suriya Kumar shines

S. Suriya Kumar (101) starred in Gee Ge CA's 36-run win over Tiruvallur district in the Vimala Convent-CSCA cricket tournament held here on Saturday.

The scores: Gee Ge CA 182 for six in 25 overs (S. Suriya Kumar 101, K. Samuel 27, T. Pravin 26) bt Tiruvallur district 146 in 22 overs (Krishna Sai 35, Aadithya Rishi 36, S. Bharath Venkatesh four for 30); Nellai Nadar 187 for seven in 25 overs (R. Srinivasan 27, N. Prashanth 31, M. Santosh Kumar 42, R.S. Gowtham 37) bt NC CA 166 in 22.4 overs (Rajesh 66, R. Srinivasan three for 28) .

VBCA triumphs

A parternship of 177 runs for the first wicket between Vishal and Vignesh helped VBCA lift the Dicky Memorial under-14 Trophy cricket after getting the better of CSSF ‘A' by 10 wickets in the final here on Saturday.

The scores: CSSF ‘A' 176 for eight in 30 overs (Daryl Ferrario 90, G. Anush four for 37) lost to VBCA 177 for no loss in 28.4 overs (K. Vishal 79 n.o., G.V. Vignesh 76 n.o.) .

Easy win for

Little Hearts ‘A'

Little Hearts ‘A' scripted a five-wicket win over Prahlad in an under-13 match of the LHCA-Parents Trophy cricket tournament here on Saturday.

The scores: U-11: Little Hearts 129 for eight in 25 overs (S. Sudhi Ram 40, Kazhim Zsharif three for 21) bt CCA 116 in 25 overs (Sachin 36, Sivakumar 27, V. Gokul three for 10).

U-13: Prahlad 143 for six in 30 overs (P. Krishna 47, Sibi Jawahar 43 n.o., S. S. Hariram three for 16) lost to Little Hearts ‘A' 147 for five in 28.3 overs (M. Anton Andrew 57 n.o., T. Selvakumar 33 n.o.) .

Cricket tournament

Asiatic Cricket Academy will organise the Sanga Memorial under-11 tournament at the Sri Sankara Vidyalaya, Pammal, from May 17 onwards. For details call 94440 44340 or 93810 25901.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper