: Sashidharan downed Robin D’Souza in straight games to lift the men’s 50 + singles title in the recently concluded Late N V Raman State veterans table tennis tournament. Sashidharan won 11-7, 11-7, 11-4.

J Mamatha klifted the women’s singles crown also in straight games defeating D Mandakini 11-6, 14-12, 11-4.

The results : Men 40+ : Final : Jagadish Bidarkoti bt Siddarama Goud 8-11, 15-13, 11-4, 11-3.

Semifinals : Jagadish Bidarkoti bt D P Gopinath 11-9, 11-4, 11-9; Siddarama Goud bt Sanjay Kanade 6-11,11-7,11-8,11-8.

Men 50 +: Final : Sashidaran bt Robin D’Soza 11-7, 11-7, 11-4.

Semifinals : Robin Dsoza bt Y Gangadhar 11-13,9-11,11-9,11-9,11-3; Sashidharan bt Mahesh Nayak 3-11,6-11,11-4,11-7,15-13.

Men 60+ : Final : N K Srikantaiah bt S Balakrishna S K 9-11, 10-12, 11-9, 12-10, 11-7.

Semifinals : N K Srikantaiah bt Udayshankar Rao 11-6, 11-7, 11-8; S Balakrishna bt C R Lakshminarayan 11-6,11-8,6-11,11-2.

Men 65+ : Final : K A Udayshankar bt M A Krishnaswamy 11-8, 11-4, 11-8.

Men 70+ : Final : K V Krishnamurthy bt Sathyanarayana 11-7, 9-11, 11-8, 11-4.

Women’s Final : J Mamatha bt D Mandakini 11-6, 14-12, 11-4.

ASC keeps winning

ASC maintained its winning run in the Karnataka Volley League, defeating DYSS in four sets as the competition’s second phase got underway at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Tuesday.

Victorious in the first phase, ASC was not expected to find bottom-ranked DYSS a difficult opponent. However, DYSS sprang a surprise.

B. Bharath and the captain Suraj Nayak put ASC under early pressure to help their side take the first set. The army-men, though, recovered immediately. Jitu Thomas excelled at the net as ASC took control of the match, eventually winning 25-27, 25-21, 25-15, 25-22.

Second-placed MEG also started with victory, defeating KSP 25-22, 25-21, 25-20. Sumesh, Jaleel and V.H. Gavas starred for the sappers.

The results: ASC bt DYSS 25-27, 25-21, 25-15, 25-22; MEG bt KSP 25-22, 25-21, 25-20; BSNL bt LIC 25-18, 19-25, 25-16, 25-9.

Abhishek sparkles

After suffering a big defeat on Monday, Chitradurga HC turned the heat on Royal HC in the C Division hockey league (phase 2) here at the KSHA stadium on Tuesday winning 11-1. Abhishek scored nine goals, including a hat-trick for the winner while Chetan and Obanna got one each. Chetan scored a consolation goal for Royals.

ADE posts win

Three goals in the first half proved enough for ADE as it prevailed against KGF Academy in the BDFA Super Division football league here at the Football Stadium on Tuesday.

After Sridharan, Santosh and Anto Xavier scored for ADE within the first 25 minutes of the matches, KGF Academy roared back with goals from Rajesh and striker Tiken Singh. ADE, however, held on to upset the defending champions.

Earlier, in the ‘A’ division, LRDE thumped Jawahar Union 4-0.

The results: Super Division: ADE 3 (Sridharan, Santosh, Anto Xavier) bt KGF Academy 2 (Rajesh, Tiken Singh).

‘A’ division: LRDE 4 (Edwin George, Vidya Sagar, Chandra Kumar, Kiran) bt Jawahar Union 0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper