World youth champion Sh. Sarjubala Devi clinched the 48kg title in the National women's boxing championships, here on Sunday.

In the summit clash, Sarjubala, who was trailing by six points before the fourth and final round, gathered 14 points in the last period to beat Krishna Thapa 36-34 and claim her maiden National crown at the senior level.

In the closely-fought 51kg final, five-time World champion M.C. Mary Kom defeated Pinky Jangra 13-9. C.V. Aswathi Mol also registered a win over Maya Poudel 29-28.

The results (finals): 48kg: Sh. Sarjubala Devi (Mani) bt Krishna Thapa (MP) 36-34; 51kg: M.C. Mary Kom (Mani) bt Pinky Jangra (Har) 13-9; 54kg: Suman (Har) bt Sonia Lather Singh (IBF) 10-9.

57kg: Mandakini Chann (AIP) bt Pwilao Basumatary (Asm) 21-11; 60kg: Neetu Chahal (Har) bt Preeti Beniwal (IBF) 12-5; 64kg: Meena Rani (RSPB) bt Aruna Mishra (AIP) 28-15; 69kg: R.L. Jenny (Miz) bt E. Memthoi Devi (Mani) 17-9; 75kg: Kavita Goyat (Del) bt Pooja (Har) 16-11; 81kg: Aswathi Mol C.V. (RSPB) bt Maya Poudel (MP) 29-28; +81kg: Kavita Chahal (Har) w.o. Lekha K.C. (Ker) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper