P. Saravana Krishnan, with eight points after the ninth and final round, won the title in the State rapid chess championship here on Sunday.

Important results (ninth and final round): K.C. Krishna Prasad 7 drew with P. Saravana Krishnan 8; Ramalingam Karthik 7 drew with Sa Kannan 7; S. Ganesh Babu 7 bt Vedha Ghana Guru 6; Meenakshi Sundaram 7 bt G. Jaswant 6; T.J. Rathish 6 lost to R.M. Subramanian 6.5; S. Muthukrishnan 6 drew with K. Chakravarti 5.5; V.K. Pasupathy 6 bt K. Bhagavathi Sankar 5; A. Sakthivel 5 lost to P. Vijay 6; P.L. Muthupalaniappan 5 lost to P.L. Singaram 6; A.S. Abdul Rahim 5 lost to R.B. Mugunth 6. Final standings (top six): 1. P. Saravana Krishnan, 2. Sa Kannan, 3. S. Ganesh Babu, 4. Ramalingam Karthik, 5. K.C. Krishna Prasad, 6. Meenakshi Sundaram.

Kancheepuram wins

At Thanjavur, Kancheepuram defeated Chennai 25-17, 25-21, 25-21 to win the boys’ title in the State junior volleyball championship on Sunday.

The results: Boys: Final: Kancheepuram bt Chennai 25-17, 25-21, 25-21. Third place: Nagapattinam bt Madurai 25-19, 25-19. Semifinals: Kancheepuram bt Nagapattinam 25-15, 20-25, 25-21, 27-25; Chennai bt Madurai 28-26, 23-25, 25-13, 25-13.

Girls: Semifinals: Chennai bt Erode 25-9, 27-25, 25-18; Tiruvarur bt Kancheepuram 25-17, 27-25, 32-30.

Yuvaraj CC is winner

At Dindigul, Yuvaraj CC (Palani)’s match against Vasantha Sweets CC (Dindigul) ended in a tie but was declared the winner due to lesser number of balls faced in the TNCA-DDCA first division league on Sunday. Both teams finished with the exact score of 140 on Sunday.

The scores: I div: Vasanth Sweets (Dindigul) 140 in 37 overs (M. Venkataprasad 29, M. Hariprasad 26, R. Durgainathan four for 18, N. Veeramalai three for 40) tied with Yuvraj (Palani) 140 in 24.1 overs (K. Renganathan 52, R. Durgainathan 37, D. Jeevanandam five for 39, K. Thangapandi three for 14). Yuvraj declared winner on basis of lesser number of balls faced; Skill (Eriodu) 150 in 37.2 overs (R. Rajasekar 32, B. Karthikeyan 29, K. Anand four for 18) lost to Dominator (Palani) 153 for two in 24 overs (R. Nasir Hussain 83).

II div: GRU (Gandhigram) 117 for eight in 22 overs (A. Stephen 39, R, Karthikeyan 34 n.o.) lost to Mansur Youngster (Dindigul) 118 for six in 19.5 overs (R. Karthikeyan three for 25); Orange Shirts (Dindigul) 125 for nine in 20 overs (V. Jeyaprakash 46, S. Karthik 28, U. Vigneshwaran four for 26) bt Nike (Oddanchatram) 109 for seven in 20 overs.

Sivamurugan sizzles

At Dindigul, A.R. Sivamurugan (39 n.o. & four for 23) helped NPR CA (Natham) score a seven-wicket win over Salem Steel Plant CA in the under-16 inter-academy tournament for the PSNA Vignesh Sports Trophy on Sunday.

The scores: Vasantha Cricket Academy, Dindigul 106 for seven in 20 overs (M. Dhanabal 85 n.o.) bt MG Cricket Academy, Chennai 96 for eight in 20 overs (Vetrimaran 33); Salem Steel Plant Cricket Academy 112 in 19.4 overs (Meganathan 33, A.R. Sivamurugan four for 23, R. Rajesh three for 8, D. Lakshan three for 12) lost to NPR Cricket Academy, Natham 116 for three in 18.4 overs (A.R. Sivamurugan 39 n.o., N. Suhilkumar 25); Jahir Cricket Academy, Vedasandur 81 for seven in 20 overs (G. Kalimuthu 26, K. Dinesh Chandar three for 21) lost to Nellai Nadar HSS, Chennai 83 for three in 16.4 overs (R. Bala Ganeshan 36 n.o.).

Modern SSS in final

At Tirunelveli, Modern SSS (Kancheepuram) and The Boys HSS (Trichy) registered comfortable wins over Le Chatelier MHSS (Madurai) and Govt HSS (Villupuram) respectively and reached the final in the second phase of the Junior Super Kings inter-school T20 championship on Sunday. Both teams qualified for the third phase to be played in Chennai.

The scores (semifinals): Le Chatelier MHSS (Madurai) 123 for seven in 20 overs (Ayyanar 39, Kevin Isaac 28) lost to Modern SSS (Kancheepuram) 124 for three in 18.4 overs (K. Yeswanth 42, Neelabh Nandan 41); Govt. HSS (Villupuram) 107 for nine in 20 overs (Theerthamalai 32) lost to The Boys HSS (Trichy) 108 for two in 14.2 overs (N.S. Harish 75 n.o.).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper