Santosh Shiv’s all-round effort (five for 30 & 41) went in vain as Vyasa Vidyalaya lost to PS Senior by 60 runs in the quarterfinal of the Union Bank Patrician under-16 cricket tournament on Saturday.

In a league-phase game, Samruddh Bhat’s hat-trick (four for 19) set up Chettinad Vidyashram’s eight-wicket win over DAV (Mogappair).

The scores: Quarterfinals: PSBB (K.K. Nagar) 141 in 29.4 overs (K.R. Shreeyas 52, M. Siddharth four for 12, Samruddh Bhat three for 32) lost to Chettinad Vidyashram 145 for three in 25 overs (B. Pradhan 39, Shyamsundar 57).

PS SSS 176 in 28.3 overs (M. Sairam 60, V. Subishwaran 58, Santosh Shiv five for 30) bt Vyasa Vidyalaya 116 in 24.1 overs (Santosh Shiv 41, Siddarth three for five, N. Ashwin three for 20).

League: DAV (Mugappair) 117 in 26 overs (R. Siva Ram 29, G. Harshith 33, Samruddh Bhat four for 19 (including a hat-trick) lost to Chettinad Vidyashram 121 for two in 24.4 overs (Shyamsundar 48, Pradhan Bharath 25 n.o.).

RKM CA triumphs

RKM CA completed a ten-wicket win over Sunshine School ‘A’ in the final of the Landmark Constructions Cup under-12 cricket tournament.

The scores: Sunshine School ‘A’ 68 for seven in 20 overs (B. Anirudh 27) lost to RKM CA 69 for no loss in 14.3 overs (Sai Sudharshan 46 n.o.).

V.A.P Trophy

from today

The V.A. Parthasarathy Memorial one-day cricket tournament will begin here on Sunday. All TNCA first division league teams will feature in the competition. The matches will be played on a 50-overs-a-side basis.

The 12 teams have been divided into four zones of three sides each. The teams topping their groups will make it to the semifinals, which will be held on January 24. The final on 25.

Jolly Rovers is the defending champion.

Cricket tournament

The Triumph Sports Network will conduct a T20 cricket tournament for clubs and commercial houses in the last week of January. Entries close on January 24.

For details, call 8939563424 or 9941462909.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper