Chennai: Santhosh claimed four wickets for 21 runs, to take Pachaiyappa's to a 34-run win over Eswari Engg, in the quarterfinals of the inter-collegiate cricket tournament for the Prof. T.V. Ramana Trophy.

The scores (quarterfinals):

Guru Nanak A 185 for nine in 30 overs (S. Srinath 48 n.o., Amit Singh 39, Prabhakar 26, Balaji 25) lost to Sathyabama 186 for five in 28.3 overs (Gowjith 53, Shivaram 33, Ashwin Kumar 29).

Guru Nanak 191 for eight in 27 overs (A.C. Pradeepan 59, S. Vignesh 30) bt A.M. Jain 173 for seven in 27 overs (S. Gunaseelan 63, P.S. Ramakrishnan 44, M. Vinod Kannan 29).

Loyola College 225 for five in 30 overs (Chaturved 56, Kaushik Gandhi 50, N. Einstein 50, Garry 27) bt Vivekananda 200 in 28.2 overs (Sunil Thomas 96, Shravan Krishnan three for 26).

Pachaiyappa's 126 in 29.1 overs (Francis Rockins 32, V. Vishal three for 15) bt Eswari Engg 92 in 22.2 overs (Vidyuth 36, Santhosh four for 21).

Asian Grand Prix

on June 9

The Tamil Nadu Athletic Association (TNAA) has been allotted the Asian Grand Prix and it plans to conduct the event on June 9 at the Nehru Stadium here.

Other major National events that TNAA will organise in the year include the Indian Grand Prix on June 8 at the Nehru Stadium here and the National youth championship from April 23 to 25 at the Nehru Stadium, Coimbatore.

Following are the other events to be conducted as per the calendar issued on Thursday: State senior championship (June 8 to 10, Nehru Stadium, Chennai); junior inter-district championship, a selection trial for South Zone championship (July 30 to August 1, Tirunelveli); junior athletics championship, a selection trial (July 8 to 10, Thiruvannamalai); State cross country race, selection trial for National cross country (January 2011 first week, Yanai Malai, Coimbatore); Kanyakumari mini-marathon (Feb 19, 2011, Anna Stadium, Nagercoil).

Aside from above, all district-level championships will be conducted from August 1 to 10.

All these activities were finalised at the General Body and Executive Committee meeting held at Kanyakumari recently. At the meeting, S. Martin, President, Coimbatore DAA, was nominated as Vice-President, TNAA.

Chandrasekaran Jr. shines

An unbeaten 105 by R. Chandrasekaran Jr. was the highlight of AG Tamil Nadu's 10-wicket win over AG Karnataka on Thursday in the Indian Audit and Accounts Department South Zone cricket tournament here.

The tournament was earlier inaugurated by S. Nagalsamy, Principal Accountant General, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. R.S. Rangarajan, DG, office of the Comptroller and Auditor, New Delhi, presided.

The scores:

AG Karnataka 179 for nine in 40 overs (M. Ramamurthy 36 n.o., P.B. Senthilvelu four for 34) lost to AG Tamil Nadu 180 for no loss in 33.1 overs (R. Chandrasekaran Jr. 105 n.o., S. Ramabadran 65 n.o.); AG Kerala 49 in 19.4 overs (Sriramalu six for 11 including a hat-trick) lost to AG Andhra Pradesh 52 for no loss in 7.3 overs (Youraj Singh 25 n.o.).

Air India ‘A' posts win

Air India ‘A' defeated Food Corporation of India 3-0 in a men's match on the opening day of the all-India public sector carrom tournament here on Thursday.

The results:

Men: Air India ‘A' bt FCI 3-0 (M. Nataraj bt R. Santharam 12-5, 12-2; Hidayat Ansari bt M.V. Dhavaseelan 14-1, 13-1; A. Maria Irudayam & R.M. Sankara bt G.M. Mani & K. Sampath 20-0, 8-5). LIC bt NLC 3-0 (Prakash Gaikwad bt G. Jayapal 22-0, 10-1; Sageer Ahmed bt K. Lenin 17-4, 2-12, 22-4; Mohammed Irfan & Surujuddin Ahmed bt S. Pandarasivan & T. Manoharan 13-0, 14-0).

Women: BSNL bt NLC 3-0 (Rashmi Kumari bt K. Seetha Devi 23-0, 23-0; Geetha Devi bt. V. Geetha 23-0, 23-0; O. Rebika Devi & Banti Laishram bt. S. Santhana Lakshmi & P. Karun 15-0, 15-0) .

Cricket camp

MAC Spin Foundation will conduct its annual cricket camp for boys and girls at its Kotturpuram premises from April 5 to May 15.

Contact Peter Fernandez at 94440 60940 or Vincent at 98400 83311 for details.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper