Grandmaster Sandipan Chanda continued with his giant-killing spree and stunned top seed Baadur Jobava to jump into joint lead at the end of the sixth round of Fujairah International Open chess tournament here on Monday.

After beating Ni Hua of China in the previous round, Sandipan was in his element yet again.

Sandipan joined four other overnight leaders in the lead following draws on top boards.

Etienne Bacrot of France signed peace with Sergey Fedorchuk of Ukraine while Surya Shekhar Ganguly achieved the same result against Alexander Moiseenko of Ukraine.

With just three rounds remaining in the $50,500 prize money tournament, all five leaders have 4.5 points each and they are followed by a group of eight players who are on four points each.

The other fancied Indian, Abhijeet Gupta had to settle for another draw in the tournament against Jaan Ehlvest of the United States.

With just 3.5 points in his bag for a shared 14th place, Gupta needs to find his winning touch before it’s too late.

The GM norm aspirations of V. Saravanan suffered a setback after he lost to Constantin Lupulescu of Romania in the sixth round.

Important results (Indians unless stated): Round six: Etienne Bacrot (Fra, 4.5) drew with Sergey Fedorchuk (Ukr, 4.5); Alexander Moiseenko (Ukr, 4.5) drew with Surya Shekhar Ganguly (4.5); Sandipan Chanda (4.5) bt Baadur Jobava (Geo, 3.5); Ma Qun (Chn, 4) drew with Le Quang Liem (Vie, 4); Yuriy Kryvoruchko (Ukr, 4) drew with Ivan Saric (Cro, 4); Jaan Ehlvest (USA, 3.5) drew with Abhijeet Gupta (3.5); Mikheil Mchedlishvili (Geo, 4) bt Gadir Guseinov (Aze, 3); S Satyapragyan (3.5) drew with Mircea-Emilian Parligras (Rou, 3.5); Tejas Bakre (3.5) drew with Safarli Eltaj (Aze, 3.5); Constantin Lupulescu (Rou, 4) bt V. Saravanan (3); Ankit Rajpara (3) lost to Zaven Andriasian (Arm, 3.5); Sagar Shah (2.5) lost to Ni Hua (Chn, 3.5); Tigran Petrosian (Arm, 3.5) bt Ashwin Jayaram (2.5); Debashis Das (3) drew with A.R. Saleh Salem (UAE, 3); Yuri Solodovnichenko (Ukr, 2.5) drew with Aditya Udeshi (2.5); Arjun Bharat (2) lost to Vishnu Prasanna (3); Akshat Khamparia (2) drew with Nelson Mariano (PHI, 2); Anurag Mhamal (1.5) lost to Vita Chulivska (Ukr, 2.5). — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper