Salgaocar SC defeated defending champion Pune FC 2-1 in a Group A match of the under-20 I-League here on Thursday.

Forwards Godfrey Silva (second minute) and Alvino Pereira (fourth minute) put Salgaocar 2-0 up within the first four minutes before Pune FC pulled one back in the 68th minute through L. Williams.

Match drawn

The second match of the same group between Sporting Club de Goa and Prayag United ended in 1-1 draw.

Pritam S. Niwgthoujam opened the account for the Goan team in the 30th minute while Rajon Barman restored parity for Prayag a minute later.

The results: Salgaocar SC 2 (Godfrey Silva 2, Alvino Pereira 4) bt Pune FC 1 (L. Williams 68).

Sporting Club de Goa 1 (Pritam S. Niwgthoujam 30) drew with Prayag United 1 (Rajon Barman 31). — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper