Qualifier Patrik Rosenholm defeated third seed Young-Jun Kim of Korea 6-4, 6-1 in the first round of the KCG Verghese Memorial-ITF Futures tennis tournament here on Tuesday.

The 23-year-old Swede will meet P. Vignesh of India in the second round.

Moving well and executing his backhand chops to a nicety, Kim ran up a 4-2 lead, but Rosenholm broke back to equalise at 4-each.

Rosenholm was more aggressive. Once Kim lost the first set, it looked like he had already given up. He didn't make efforts to retrieve the tough balls even as Rosenholm got better with his shots.

While giving credit to his opponent, Kim said, “I have been playing non-stop. I played and won a National tournament in Korea, then won the Thailand Futures and again reached the final in Noida. The humid conditions here didn't help me either. I became very tired.”

However, the top seed Karan Rastogi didn't face any such problems in his 6-0, 6-1 win over Shantanu Rajput. Rastogi will meet wild card entrant and former National champion Vijay Kannan next.

Wild card Neeraj Elangovan defeated qualifier Francois Chatelle of Belgium 7-6(2), 6-3 in the first round.

Neeraj will clash with Vivek Shooken, who upset Kittiphong Wachiramanowong of Thailand, the sixth seed.

Vishnu Vardhan, the second seed and winner of the two earlier legs, coasted to a 6-2, 6-3 win over Mike Vermeer of Luxembourg.

The results (Singles first round, Indians unless mentioned): Karan Rastogi bt Shantanu Rajput 6-0, 6-1; Patrik Rosenholm (Swe) bt Young-Jun Kim (Kor) 6-4, 6-1; Sriram Balaji bt Arjun Kadhe 6-2, 6-2; P. Vignesh bt Rupesh Roy 6-3, 6-1; Vivek Shokeen bt Kittiphong Wachiramanowong (Tha) 6-4, 6-4; Neeraj Elangovan bt Francois Chatelle (Bel) 7-6(2), 6-3; Julien Dubail (Bel) bt Jae-Sung An (Kor) 6-1, 6-2; Christopher Rungkat (Ina) bt Vijayant Malik 7-6(4), 6-4; Vishnu Vardhan bt Mike Vermeer (Lux) 6-2, 6-3; Suresh Krishna bt Akash Wagh 6-2, 1-6, 7-6(12); Junna Mitsuhashi (Jpn) bt Elbert Sie (Ina) 6-7(1), 7-6(3), 6-2; Jeson Patrombon (Phi) bt Ajai Selvaraj 5-7, 7-6(2), 6-0.

Doubles (first round): N. Vijay Sundar Prashanth/Arun Prakash bt Rupesh Roy/Vivek Shokeen 2-6, 6-3(10-6) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper