Ritu Rani will lead an 18-member Indian team in the women’s competition of the Hero Hockey World League Round 2 to be held at the National Stadium here from February 18 to 24.

Other than India (ranked 12th in the world), Japan (9), Russia (20), Malaysia (22), Kazakhstan (33) and Fiji (59) will participate in the event, which is the qualifying tournament for the World Cup to be held at The Hague (The Netherlands) next year. The Indian team will take on Kazakhstan on Feb. 18 before facing Malaysia (Feb. 19), Fiji (Feb. 21), Japan (Feb. 22) and Russia (Feb. 24).

The team: Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita; Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Jaspreet Kaur, Joydeep Kaur, Kirandeep Kaur; Midfielders: Ritu Rani (captain), Chanchan Devi (vice-captain), Namita Toppo, Vandana Katariya, Sushila Chanu, Lily Chanu; Forwards: Poonam Rani, Soundarya Yendala, Anupa Barla, Rani, Navjot Kaur, Lilima Minz. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper