REgional round-up

print   ·   T  T  
Suryabala CC, which won the TNCA-CDCA first division league for the Lakshmi Card Clothing Trophy.
Suryabala CC, which won the TNCA-CDCA first division league for the Lakshmi Card Clothing Trophy.

Harshavardhan and Lakshmi take honours

G.B. Harshavardhan (8 points) and WFM C. Lakshmi (8.5) won the boys’ and girls’ titles respectively in the State under-11 chess championship, organised by Rock Fort Chess Academy, at TRP EC here on Wednesday.

Important results (ninth and final round): Boys: P. Yutesh 7 lost to G.B. Harshavardhan 8; N.B. Hari Madhavan 7.5 bt B.S. Aswin Kumar 7; V. Sathyanarayanan 6.5 lost to V.S. Raahul 7.5; Nitin Shankar Madhu 7.5 bt H. Balasubramaniam 6.5; G.M. Vel Vishwanathan 7.5 bt Y. Koushik Sarun Reddy 6.5; Digvijay Sunil 6.5 drew with Alan Diviya Raj 6.5; N.D. Rangesh 6.5 drew with M. Mohamed Anees 6.5; S. Abhinessh 7 bt R. Vignesh 6; S. Akilesh Viswaa 7 bt K.R. Krishna 6; Ajay Karthikeyan 7 bt S. Abhishek 6.

Girls: C. Lakshmi 8.5 bt Darshana Balakrishnan 6.5; K.R. Kruthika 7 drew with M.K. Poorna Sri 7.5; J. Hamsavalli 6.5 drew with L. Jyothsna 6.5; S. Dhanusha 7 bt R. Mohana 6; B.A. Arputha Jasmine 6.5 drew with V. Rindhiya 6.5; K. Shivani 6 lost to R. Madhumitha 7; V.K. Vidula 6 lost to M.S. Darsana 7; R.B. Leka 5.5 lost to Shivani Madhu 6.5; S. Sai Pravarthika 6 drew with A. Bhavana 6; Srividya Sundar 5.5 drew with V. Achaya 6.

Final standings (top five): Boys: 1. G.B. Harshavardhan, 2. N.B. Hari Madhavan, 3. V.S. Raahul, 4. Nitin Shankar Madhu, 5. G.M. Vel Vishwanathan. Girls: 1. C. Lakshmi, 2. M.K. Poorna Sri, 3. K.R. Kruthika, 4. S. Dhanusha, 5. R. Madhumitha.

Unbeaten century

by Thagasin

Z. Mohamed Thagasin struck an unbeaten century as St. John’s Vestry AI HSS registered a 115-run win over Sri Sivananda Balalaya in the Tiruchi DCA inter-school league cricket tournament.

The scores (league):

St. John’s Vestry AI HSS 186 for five in 29 overs (Z. Mohamed Thagasin 103 n.o., S. Cyril Joseph 47) bt Sri Sivananda Balalaya 71 for three in 29 overs.

Samadh SSS 113 in 26.5 overs (M. Aadhil Ahamed 48 n.o., J. Shahul Hameed 33, G. Muthukumar four for 10, S. Vigneshwar three for 10) bt Chinmaya Vidyalaya 87 in 27.1 overs (S. Vigneshwar 28, J. Shahul

Hameed four for 11, Samir Murmu three for 17).

Srirangam Boys HSS 174 for seven in 30 overs (N.S. Harish 47, C. Sundar 33 n.o.) bt Chinmaya Vidyalaya 47 in 14 overs (V. Shibi Jawahar four for 12, S. Varatharajan three for 18).

Railway Mixed HSS 57 in 22.2 overs (R. Arjith five for 26) lost to Campion AI HSS ‘B’ 61 for no loss in 8.1 overs (R.S. Jagadeeshwara Uthara 44 n.o.).

Vignesh Sri Renga MHSS 66 in 23.3 overs (R. Vishnu Sithan 25, F. Arun Amal three for 14, S. Niranjan three for 18) lost to Campion AI HSS ‘A’ 67 for four in 15.1 overs (A. Priyaraj 36).

N.S. Puthur CC wins

‘B’ division

Half centuries by A. Anburaj and J. Santhana Joy helped N.S. Puthur CC defeat Majestic CC by 29 runs in the final of the TNCA-TDCA ‘B’ division league at the ICL grounds here recently.

The scores: ‘B’ Div: Final: N.S. Puthur 179 for four in 20 overs (A. Anburaj 60, J. Santhana Joy 51 n.o., K. Anto Nivin 34) bt Majestic 150 for six in 20 overs (P. Raja 49, A. Murugan 42, S. Lawrence three for 45).

Semifinal: Sankar Polytechnic 112 for nine in 20 overs (A. Madhu 25, D. Selvam three for 24) lost to Majestic 115 for five in 17.3 overs (T. Shankar Thilak 45 n.o.).

Indira Gandhi 123 for five in 20 overs (E. Shenbagaraj 55) lost to N.S. Puthur 124 for four in 16.3 overs (V. Parthasarathi 54, M. Mari Selvam three for 15).

Quarterfinal: Indira Gandhi 105 for seven in 20 overs (L. Sundar Raja 29, V. Sethu three for 21) bt NSK Police 75 in 17.5 overs (E. Shenbagaraj three for 9).

N.S. Puthur 173 for nine in 20 overs (J. Santhana Joy 60, T. Satheesh Kumar 48, V. Jawahar three for 13) bt Star Kings 122 in 19.2 overs (M. Mahesh 29).

Sankar Polytechnic 126 for nine in 20 overs (S. Veerapandi 36, S. Kumar Ananth 25, S. Preetham Singh three for 19) bt Blue Star 89 in 19 overs (S. Palani 32 n.o.).

TIM ‘B’ 143 for five in 20 overs (M. Arumugam 66, V. Mahalingam 31, D. Selvam three for 27) lost to Majestic 147 for three in 19 overs (D. Selvam 64, M. Rasool 37).

Suryabala CC clinches first division title

Suryabala CC won the first division title for the Lakshmi Card Clothing Trophy in the TNCA-CDCA league for the 2013-14 season recently.

Six-time champion Sri Ramakrishna Mills Sports Club took second spot.

CDCA league position (2013-14): I div. (Lakshmi Card Clothing Trophy): 1. Suryabala CC; 2. Sri Ramakrishna Mills SC. Relegated to II division: 1. Sir Robert Stanes MCC; 2. RKS Kalvinilayam ICC.

II div. (Universal Heat Exchangers Trophy): 1. Rainbow 1972 MMCC; 2. Kovai Knights. Relegated to III division : 1. Jolly Friends XI; 2. Coimbatore Friends CC.

III div. (N. Damodharan Welfare Trust Trophy): 1. Red Diamonds CC; 2. Coimbatore Institute of Technology. Relegated to IV division: 1. Senthil Srinivasan MCC; 2. PSG Tech CC.

IV div. (Elgi Trophy): 1. Kingz CC; 2. Rainbow Wizards CC. Out of league: 1. Cosmo Village (Cbe) S.A. ‘B’; 2. Best VP XI.

Easy for MGR College

MGR College CC defeated Danger CC by 132 runs in the TNCA-Krishnagiri DCA league in Krishnagiri recently.

The scores: I div.: MGR College CC 221 in 50 overs (M. Shivaraj 79, R. Rudresh Kumar 68, S. Sabari Nathan four for 23) bt Danger CC 89 in 27.2 overs (U. Ananth Sai five for 27); KDCA-Prime Time CC 127 in 47.1 overs (Y. Surya 37, A. Infant Xavier 32, C. Murali four for 17) lost to Strikers CC 131 for six in 31.4 overs (Y. Surya three for 28).

II div.: Gradalax CC 186 for nine in 25 overs (A. Arasu 46, V. Selva Raj 38) bt Red Dragon CC 46 in 12.3 overs (N. Sekar six for 10, R. Thimmaraju four for 15); Time Passers CC 135 in 25 overs (R. Elangovan 37, M. Liyakath 30) lost to Wills CC 135 for six in 17.2 overs (S. Gowrisan 45 n.o.); KDCA-Friends CC 107 in 24.1 overs (N. Soukath Ali 48, R. Selva Kumar three for 20) lost to Sachin CC 109 for five in 14.2 overs (R. Selva Kumar 34 n.o., S.P. Ronaldo Tendulkar three for 32).

Narrow win for Diamond Garden CC

At Dharmapuri, Diamond Garden CC edged out National CC by one wicket in the TNCA-Dharmapuri DCA first division league recently.

The scores: I div.: National CC 227 in 40.3 overs (S. Anandhan 51, P. Kavi 35) lost to Diamond Garden CC 228 for nine in 39.4 overs (G. Vadivel 41, G. Murugan 35, K. Shiva Shankar three for 49); Marandalli CC 170 in 28.5 overs (M.S. Raja 50, K. Sekar 36) bt Time Passers 95 in 23.3 overs (M.S. Raja three for 32, N. Suseediran six for 40).

II div.: Adhiyamaan Boys CC 150 for three in 25 overs (J. Yuvaraj 76 n.o., P. Bakiya Raj 30) bt Sakthi Vinayaga CC 130 for eight in 25 overs (N. Muniyappan 30, S. Naveen three for 32, S. Ragavendiran five for 10); Red Roses CC 129 in 25 overs (S. Arasu 33) bt Abdul Kalam CC 113 in 29.4 overs (S. Madhan 56); Velli Santhai CC 162 for nine in 25 overs (S. Shan Mugan 62, G. Laxmikanthan three for 18) bt Jaihind CC 147 in 23.4 overs (T. Harish 36, M. Anbarasan three for 20).

DCAN cricket camp

The District Cricket Association of Namakkal will conduct a summer coaching camp for the under-19 boys at the Seshasayee Paper Board Colony grounds in Tiruchengodu from May 1 to 15.

For registration, call 97889 73764.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Final tied

The title clash for the Sahibzada Zoravar Singh-Fateh Singh T20 cricket tournament ended in a tie with both finalists — ONGC and Khalsa L... »