regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

Easy for BPCL KR Academy

BPCL Kochi Refinery Academy crushed Palakkad’s Indot Photo Book Galaxy CC by seven wickets in the Royal Projects 63rd Pooja all-India cricket tournament at the Tripunithura Palace Oval on Monday.

The scores: Indot Photo Book Galaxy CC, Pkd. 166 for nine in 45 overs (Anesh Kumar 41, M. Murugan 45) lost to BPCL Kochi Refinery Academy 168 for three in 28 overs (M.T. Munsheer 61, Sreenath Kumar 42, Vinu Vijayan 39 n.o.).

Kids, Genuine CC share trophy

Kids CC (Thiruvananthapuram) and Genuine CC (Kollam) were declared as joint-winners of the Celestial Trophy Teens (under-17) cricket tournament after rain stopped play in the final between these two sides at the Agriculture College ground here on Monday.

Genuine CC was 122 for two off 21 overs when rain forced the match to be abandoned.

TDCA president Jeevan gave away the prizes.

Special awards: Best batsman: Bharat Soorya (Kids CC); Best bowler: Arun Babu (Kids CC); Special mention: Prakash (Murugan CC).

Thrissur in final

Thrissur defeated Malappuram 2-1 via the tiebreaker and entered the final of the ninth State under-13 football championship on Monday.

The teams were goalles at the end of the regulation period.

K.P. Rahul and Mohd. Ansaf were successful for Thrissur in the tie-breaker while only T. Nakul was on target for Malappuram.

Mishal, Nandini

bag titles

Mishal Dilawar (RSC) and Nandini Menon (KR Pillai Academy) won the men’s and women’s singles titles respectively in the Ernakulam District table tennis championship at the Regional Sports Centre here.

The results (finals):

Men: Mishal Dilawar (RSC) bt Nithin Narayanan (KRPMTTA) 11-8, 13-11, 13-11.

Boys: Juniors: Mishal Dilawar (RSC) bt Anargh N. Pramod (RSC) 11-8, 11-9, 5-11, 9-11, 11-4.

Youth: Nithin Narayanan (KRPMTTA) bt Mishal Dilawar (RSC) 3-11, 11-8, 4-11, 11-8, 11-8.

Inter-School team event (boys, final placings): 1. Vidyodaya, Thevakkal, 2. Sacred Heart, Thevara.

Women: Nandini Menon (KRPMTTA) bt Gayatri Girish (RSC) 11-9, 7-11, 11-5, 11-2.

Girls: Juniors: Gayatri Girish (RSC) bt Nandini Menon (KRPMTTA) 5-11, 11-8, 11-5, 5-11, 11-6.

Inter-school team event (girls, final placings): 1. Vidyodaya, Thevakkal, 2. KV-I, Naval Base.

Veterans men’s singles: V.T.Monish (BPCL) bt P.U.Vinodkumar (BPCL) 11-6, 11-7, 11-6.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Rays hold Waveriders

Ranchi Rays returned from a two-goal deficit to hold defending champion Delhi Waveriders 2-2 in third edition of Hero Hockey India League... »