regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

SZ tournament

The South Zone Indian Audit and Accounts Department cricket tournament will be held at the IAF and NRI Palace grounds on October 22 and 23.

Four teams are in the fray. The matches commence at 9.30 a.m. on both days.

Accenture posts win

Accenture posted a one-wicket win over Airtel in the T20 Star Kingfisher Premier League here.

The scores : Airtel 132 for eight in 20 overs (Sumith 24, Divaker 22 n.o., Ranga three for 24, Ram three for 30) lost to Accenture 133 for nine in 19 overs (Rakshan 44, Bhargav 23, Nagesh four for 20, Sumith three for 31).

Open Silicon 136 for seven in 20 overs (B. Ajay 40, P. Amith 32 n.o., Umesh 23, Malik three for 19, Prashanth two for 40) bt Unisys 125 for nine in 20 overs (Harish 28, Sanjeev 26, Rakesh 24, Rakesh three for 10).

WNS 141 for nine in 20 overs (Ramesh 50, Harish four for 26, Nishanth three for 15) bt AEGIS 78 in 17.5 overs (Sunil 27, R. Ravi three for six, Ramesh two for 15, Rahul two for 15).

Zee Kannada 169 for five in 20 overs (Raghavan 40, B. Shekar 28, N. Rajesh 24, F. Vicky 22, Pavan two for 35) bt Blue Star 136 for eight in 20 overs (Vinod 37, Raj Kumar 30, Nagabhushan 23, Ravindranath five for 12).

Microsoft 185 for six in 18 overs (Kuttappa 60, Aditya 37, Prem 33, Sharath 25 n.o., Anil three for 21) bt Colt Tech 96 for nine in 18 overs (Tapas 29, Kuttappa three for 24, P. Karthik two for 17, Shanmugham two for 21).

Semifinalists identified

RDT Hockey Academy, Dhyanchand HC (Dharwad), Jude Felix HA and Dhyanchand HC (Tumkur) entered the semis of the KSHA ‘C’ division hockey league here on Monday.

The results (second phase): RDT Hockey Academy 6 (Shiva 3, Sivananda Reddy, Hamsha Vardhan, Sai Kiran) bt DA Association 1 (Naresh); Jude Felix HA 6 (Suresh 3, Arun Kumar 2, Noel Robinson) bt Aiyappa HA 0.

Karun to lead

Karun Nair will lead the Karnataka under-25 team for its C.K. Nayudu Trophy clash against Delhi at the capital from October 28 to 31.

The team (from): Karun Nair (captain), Mayank Agarwal, R. Samarth, K.L. Rahul, Shreyas Gopal, Shishir Bhavane, Sadiq Kirmani (wk), H.S. Sharath, Ronit More, Abrar Kazi, Aditya Sagar, Mir Kaunain Abbas, Pavan Desphande, J. Suchith and Parappa Mordi.

Devanahalli beats YFA

Incessant rains played havoc with the schedule with just one of the four matches played in the Karnataka Volleyball Association State ‘A’ and ‘B’ division league at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Monday. Devanahalli outspiked YFA Kadugodi 25-17, 25-16, 23-25, 25-9 in a ‘B’ division encounter with Rakesh and Arrun Gowda revelling for the winner.

The lone ‘A’ division encounter between DYSS and ITI and the two ‘B’ division encounters have been rescheduled for later this week.

Aditya advances

Second-seeded Aditya Rao defeated N. Sailesh 4-1, 4-2 in the third round of the boys’ section of the STC-AITA under-14 South Zone tennis championship here on Monday.

Important results: Boys: Third round: Yuvraj bt Rishikesh 4-1, 4-0; Aditya Rao bt N. Sailesh 4-1, 4-2; Rajnish Bhandari bt G. Manish 5-3, 4-2; Sharan bt Parneet Venugopal 4-2, 4-2.

Girls: Second round: Prarthana Prabhakar bt Shalini 4-0, 4-0; Chelsea bt Vijayalakshmi 4-2, 4-1; Prathiba Narayan bt Aditi Narayan 4-0, 4-0; Pragathi Narayan bt Sai Loukya 4-0, 4-1.

TT tournament

The C.S. Suresh memorial State-ranking table tennis tournament will be held at the KEA indoor facility, Bangalore, from October 31 to November 2. Entries close on October 26.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Clinical Chelsea earns Mourinho third title

John Terry set Chelsea up for a 2-0 victory over Tottenham Hotspur in Sunday’s League Cup final as Jose Mourinho claimed the first trophy... »