regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  


posts win

Unnat (21) and Ekansh (16) scored freely as Manavsthali School shocked last year’s runner-up Bal Bharati Public School, 55-48 in the senior boys section of the 24{+t}{+h}Hansraj Prabhakar memorial basketball tournament at the Oxford Senior Secondary School courts, E-Block, Vikaspuri, on Monday.

The results: Senior boys: Manavsthali School 55 (Jasneet Singh 24, Viralsh Saleeja 11) bt Bal Bharati Public School 48 (Abhimanyu 15, Pulkit 14, Shaurya 10). Oxford School 50 (Abhishek Tyagi 20, Sohal Gahlot 16, Lakshaya Manchanda 10) bt Step bt Step 19. Montfort School 54 (Unnat 21, Ekansh 16) bt St. Xavier’s School 45 (Harsh 13, Girik 12). Mini boys: Montfort School 47 (Aryan 16, Aditya 16) bt Amity School 12 (Adiraj 10). Oxford School 34 bt St.Xavier’s School 3. Sachdeva Public School 21 bt Bal Bharati Public School 18 (Shrey 10).

Parveen, Hemant shine

Parveen and Hemant scored 48 points between them as Air Force defeated Pragati Club 72-47 after leading 35-27 at halftime in the men’s section of the Royal Club basketball tournament at the Central Secretariat courts, Vinay Marg, on Monday.

The results: AHQ Signals 104 (Prabodh Kumar 18, T. J. Koshi 15, Dalip Kumar 14, Abhijit Chavan 13) bt Royal Club ‘B’ 49.

Air Force 72 (Parveen 25, Hemant 23) bt Pragati Club 47 (Shibandu 14, Dilshan 10).

Delhi Storm 69 (Parvin 20, Sachin 11) bt Sports Star 51 (Umesh 19, Saurabh 13, Naveen 12).

Butlerian Club 75 (Vinay 17, Surendra 15, Ravinder 14, Jitendra 10) bt West Delhi Club 53 (Saurabh 18, sarthak 10).

CRPF 73 (Balraj Singh 23, Bijender Singh 15) bt True Friends Club 35 (Harsh Malik 12).

Easy for Bal Bhawan

Mayank Rawat (93), Anuj Rawat (54) and Vikram Thapa (50 not out) struck half-centuries as Bal Bhawan International School outplayed S.M. Arya Public School by 181 runs in the 23rd Radha Kishan Sanjay inter-school cricket tournament at the Cambridge Foundation School ground, Rajouri Garden, here on Monday.

The scores: Bal Bhawan IS 302 for six in 20 overs (Mayank Rawat 93, Anuj Rawat 54, Vikram Thapa 50 n.o., Rohan Rana three for 50) bt S.M. Arya PS 121 in 19.3 overs (Mohd. Sadab 52, Rohit Tyagi three for 20, Rinku Chikara three for 30).

R.S. PS 146 for eight in 20 overs (Rohit Badana 24, Varun Malik three for 27) bt Bal Bharati PS 78 in 16.5 overs (Dharmender Sharma three for 14, Vikas Singh three for 20).

Hat-trick by Shivang

Shivang Bharadwaj’s five-wicket haul, including a hat-trick, led Ryan International School, Greater Noida to a 74-run win over Delhi Public School, Greater Noida in the USA Pears Daredevils School Cup T20 cricket tournament here.

The scores: Pathways, Noida 60 for nine in 20 overs (Tushar Churamani five for 18) lost to Amity International, Noida 62 for two in 10.2 overs.

Ryan IS, Greater Noida 122 for seven in 20 overs (Manu Singh three for 16) bt DPS, Greater Noida 48 in 15.5 overs (Abhay Chauhan 31, Shivang Bharadwaj five for five including a hat-trick).

Brace by Nikhil

A brace by Nikhil Sharma helped Young Boys thrash Ashoka 4-0 in a Group A first-division preliminary league match of the DLF-ONGC-Delhi Soccer Association (DSA) Open Clubs Football League Championship at the CWG Sports Complex here on Monday.

The results: Young Boys FC 4 (Nikhil Sharma 2, Amrit Lamichaney, Ayush) bt Ashoka FC 0; Indian Air Force, Palam 1 (Manish Negi 23) bt Cosmos FC 0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Saina’s remarkable resurgence

Last summer, Saina Nehwal needed a second wind to resurrect her career as an elite player. It was during the Uber Cup in New Delhi that f... »