regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

Double for KSEB

KSEB won the men’s and women’s titles in the Thiruvananthapuram district senior basketball tournament at the Central stadium here on Friday.

The KSEB men defeated Mar Baselios Engineering College 69-42 and the women crushed LNCPE Kariyavattom 54-20.

The results (finals): Men: KSEB 69 (Albin Baby 23, Umesh Krishnan 17, Ajith Sugunan 12) bt Mar Baselios Engineering College 42 (Arjun 12).

Women: KSEB 54 (Merlin Baby 20, Shilgi 10, Lizy Mathew 10) bt LNCPE, Kariyavattom 20.

Ghorakhal Sainik School triumphs

Sainik School, Ghorakhal (Uttarkhand) beat Punglwa (Nagaland) 51-34 to win the all-India Sainik School basketball tournament here on Friday. Nirmay Bisht (Ghorakhal) was player of the tournament. Chittorgarh (Rajasthan) won the fair play award.

SBT, Mini Muthoot to clash for honours

State Bank of Travancore (Thiruvananthapuram) will meet Mini Muthoot CC (Thiruvalla) in the final of the 11th G.V. Raja memorial all-Kerala cricket tournament.

Mini Muthoot defeated Muthoot Yamaha Masters (Thiruvananthapuram) by 33 runs while SBT scored a six-wicket win over AG’s Office Recreation Club.

The scores: Mini Muthoot, Thiruvalla 232 for seven in 25 overs (C.P. Rizwan 76, Rahul Dev 49, K.K. Jiyas five for 26) bt Muthoot Yamaha Masters 199 in 23.3 overs (Jithin Ramachandran 63, Athul Diamond 52, Aksah Babu three for 31, Sreeraj three for 40).

AG’s Office Recreation Club 128 in 24.3 overs (M.S. Akhil 32, K.R. Sreejith three for 25) lost to SBT 132 for four in 22.1 overs (Raiphy Vincent Gomez 48, Kevin Oscar 38).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper
The Hindu presents the all-new Young World



Recent Article in SPORT

Dickwella fined

Wicketkeeper Dickwella was fined 10 per cent of his match fee and officially reprimanded by match referee Jeff Crowe for claiming a catch... »