regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

Vishwahith and

Charan shine

Vishwahith Rao’s eight for 20 for Satyam Colts and a century by M.S.R. Charan (140 not out) for Team Kun were the highlights of the A-Division one-day league championship on Friday.

The scores:

A-Division one-day league: MP Youngmen 195 for eight (Srikanth 33, Nithin 38, Sandeep 38, Raghu four for 39) bt Gowlipura 90 (Arun Kumr 31).

 Satyam Colts 167 (P. Nagendra Kumar 40, Ch. Chandrasekhar 30, Anandu 30 n.o., Bharath three for 36, Abhinav three for 25) bt Hyd Districts 113 (Ram 33, Vishwahith Rao eight for 20).

Team Kun 284 for one (Md Taha Sheik 47, M.S.R. Charan 140 n.o., A. Varun Goud 54 n.o.) bt Imperial 206 (Uttej 79 n.o., A. Varun Goud five for 60).

SK Blues 118 for seven (Ashwin three for 19) bt Tirumala 109 (Nadeem Shareef three for 19, Fuad Akhter three for 36, Bala Subramaniam three for 27).

Rapid chess

Global Chess Academy is organising the Sunday rapid chess tournament at Sarvani Towers (near Siddhartha Arts and Science College) in Vijayawada on October 13 from 10 a.m. Special prizes will be given for under-7, under-9, under-11 and under-13 age group winners. For registration and details, contact Sk. Khasim at 9849514138.

SPPB hockey probables

The following are the probables of the Steel Plants Promotion Board (SPPB) hockey team for the fourth Hockey India senior National hockey championship. The team was picked after the All-India Steel Plants hockey tournament held at Vizag recently.

The probables: Goalkeepers:  Subodh Tirkey (Rourkela), Matiyas Ram (Jindal), Vaibhav Chandel (Bhilai); Defenders: G.C. Jain (Bhilai), Anand Lakra, Dilip Toppo (Rourkela), Alok Barla (Jindal), P. Siva (Vizag); Midfielders:  Deepak Kullu (Rourkela), Ranjan Lakra (Jindal), Ranjeet Lakra (Jindal), Binod Dodrai (Tata), Roshan (Tata), Ram Babu (Vizag); Forwards:  Ravi Parek, Paulus Ekka (Jindal), Anand Kumar Kujur, Rajen Kandulna, Sunil Toppo, Adesh Balmiki, Alsem Lakra (Rourkela), Bimal Minz (Tata), Praveen K. Dung Dung, N. Lokesh (Vizag).

Standbyes: Milan Ekka, Amrit Lakra (Jindal), Chumman Lal (Bhilai), Upendra Majhi, Purit Kujur (Durgapur).

KLU chess team

The following players will represent Koneru Lakshmaiah University in the South Zone inter-university chess championship at SRM University in Chennai from October 12.

The team:  K. Mourya, C. Revanth, T. Rajesh, Y. Bala Tirupura Sundari, A. Uma Sri and Amulya;  Coach:  K. Suresh.

Khader Moinuddin mourned

The members of Andhra Pradesh Table Tennis Association, led by president V. Bhaskar Ram and secretary S.M. Sultan, mourned the death of former State champion Khader Moinuddin who passed away in Hyderabad on Friday.

Sreekanth slams ton

Sreekanth’s century (106) helped President’s XI score 261 in 83.3 overs against Secretary’s XI in the four-day ACA under-25 State selection match at Anantapur on Friday. In reply, Secretary’s XI was 24 for two at stumps.

The scores: President’s XI 261 in 83.3 overs (Sreekanth 106, Shoaib 75, Chandra 31, Sudhakar three for 84, Bharat three for 67) vs. Secretary’s XI 24 for two in four overs.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

READY FOR RIO:Haryana's Inderjeet Singh heaved the iron ball to a distance that assured him a place at next year's Olympic Games.— Photo: H.S. Manjunath

A memorable day for Inderjeet Singh

The rough road to Rio de Janeiro was opened on Friday. A day later, Inderjeet Singh had a smooth ride on it, as he booked his ticket to t... »