regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

Boca ties up with Brigade Schools

Boca Juniors Football School India (BJFSI), with its roots in Argentina, has tied up with Bangalore’s Brigade Schools Group for coaching camps.

Students of Brigade Schools at JP Nagar, Malleswaram and Mahadevapura will gain from this initiative.

In a press release, David Moliner Monerdero, technical director of BJFSI, said: “This is a great opportunity for students of The Brigade Schools to learn the nuances of football under professional supervision.”

RBANMS is champion

Host RBANMS won the inter-collegiate football tournament, conducted at its college grounds here. In the final against Al-Ameen College, the two sides were locked at 1-1 after regular time. RBANMS then took the title through penalty shootout.

The results:

Final: RBANMS bt Al-Ameen 1-1 (3-1 via penalties).

Semifinals: Al-Ameen bt CMRIS (Kasturinagar) 2-0; RBANMS bt Govt. R.C. College 0-0 (4-1 via penalties).

CST Mundugod triumphs

CST Mundugod emerged champion in the 19th CBSE Cluster-VII football tournament that concluded here on Wednesday.

The results: Final: CST Mundugod 6 (Tenzin Phuntsok, Tenzin Nyendak, Tenzin Tsangpa, Tenzin Bhakdo, Tenzin Dhundup, Palden) bt DPS East 5 (Goutham Misra 2, Aditya Singh, Risekesh Magh, Mohith Bhargav).

Third-place play-off: BGS IRS, Kumbalgude 5 (Ram Roshan, Abhishek, Dhanik, Tashi, Somas) bt Jain International 4 (Rohan, Rijul Jian, Harshit, Gurang Bapu).

Semifinals: DPS 6 (Goutham Misra 2, Aditya Singh, Advait Raj Guru, Rishikesh Magh, Sashwat Misra) bt BGS IRS 5 (Roshan, Ram Roshan, Abhishek, Manav, Tarhi); CST 5 (Tenzin Nyanak, Tenzin Tsangpa, Tenzin Nyendak, Tenzin Lohbu, Tenzin Dathang) bt Jain International 4 (Rejul Jain 2, Rethoszeyie, Rohan).

MSRIT to meet

MVIT in final

Host MSRIT along with MVIT qualified for the men’s final of the M.S. Ramaiah Memorial State-level inter-collegiate basketball tournament in progress here on Wednesday.

The results (semifinal league): Men: MSRIT 45 (Melver 14, Adhish 10, Jostin 8) bt RNSIT 41 (Ravindra 29); MSRIT 54 (Adish Rai 10, Melver 10, Raja 8) bt New Horizon 39 (Bobby 18, Basavaraju 10); MVIT 44 (Sunil 24) bt RNSIT 42 (Ravindra 30); MVIT 59 (Manoj 14, Sunil 13) bt New Horizon 58 (Watan 13, Basavaraju 9).

Women: RVCE 31 (Sindhu 12) bt MSRIT 25 (Kirthi 12); RVCE 25 (Sindhu 8, Lakshmi 6) bt MIT Manipal 14 (Shivangi 8); RVCE 33 (Sindhu 10, Meghana 8) bt SBM Jain CE 15 (Sai Sabin 8); MSRIT 32 (Sofi 8, Rishika Shetty 8) bt MIT Manipal 18 (Shivangi 8); MIT Manipal 33 (Shivangi 10, Aparna 6) bt SBM Jain CE 8 (Netra 6).

Divakar nets four

Divakar slammed four goals as Major Dhyanchand HC, Dharwad trounced East India HC 9-0 in a State ‘C’ division hockey league match at the KSHA Stadium here on Wednesday.

The results: Major Dhyanchand HC, Dharwad 9 (Divakar 4, Mahesh 2, Mahantesh, Aditya, Somshekar) bt East India HC 0; Rising Star HC 1 (Varadaraj) drew with ISRO 1 (Richards); Dhyanchand HC, Tumkur 5 (Ramesh 3, Deepak, self-goal) bt Warrior SC 2 (Poovanna, Paul Fredrick).

Chandrika, Arjun clinch titles

Arjun Sriram and Chandrika Joshi clinched the boys’ and girls’ titles respectively in the AITA under-12 tennis tournament held here.

The results (under-12): Boys: Final: Arjun Sriram bt Manish 6-2, 6-1; semifinal: Sriram bt R.S. Rajesh Kannan 4-0, 4-1; Manish bt V.M. Sandeep 4-0, 2-4, (10/7).

Girls: Final: Chandrika Joshi bt Parrvi Patil 6-2, 1-1 (retd.); semifinal: Parrvi bt Reshma Maruri 4-0, 4-2; Chandrika bt Harshita Nagpal 4-0, 4-1.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Dutee Chand back on the track

Indian sprinter Dutee Chand, who was suspended by the International Amateur Athletics Federation (IAAF) for excessive testosterone to det... »