print   ·   T  T  

Nafeez leads Bhavan’s to big win

Century by Sk. Nafeez (152) helped Bhavan’s SR Junior College record a convincing, 193-run win over Little Flower Junior College in the quarterfinal of the Eddie Aibara (under-19) one-day, inter-college cricket tournament here.

The scores: Eddie Aibara (U-19) one-day inter-college tournament: Quarterfinals: Visionary JC 102 (M.A. Majid 42) lost to St Mary’s JC, Yousufguda, 104 for four (Jayasurya 45).

Bhavan’s SRJC 375 for five (Sk. Nafeez 152, Vikas Reddy 93, Sandeep Goud 55, Tanay Tyagarajan 32) bt LFJC 182 for seven (Sai Pranay 59, Pranay Keerthan 39, Vidhath three for 40).

St. John’s Church JC 270 for seven (Nivrith Ram 83, Nikhil Yadav 50, Manish Parashar 41, Nikhil Parwani 40, Sami Patsa three for 41, Omer Bin Razzak three for 50) bt MSJC 93 (Sami Patsa 34, Manish Parashar six for 34).

A-Division two-day league: CCOB 161 lost to New Blues 164 for five (Datta Prakash 71 not out, Ankush 36, Yousuf three for 45).

Pasha Beedies 132 lost to Osmania 133 for three (V. Srujan 64 not out, Ram Prasad 43).

Megacity 351 bt Vijay Hanuman 244 (Sharif Pathan 46, Sukhein Jain 44, Rohan Varkey 45, R. Vamshi 65, Shravan Kumar six for 69).

SBI 274 for nine (Abubaker 39, Ranganath 77, Akhil Goud four for 58) bt Nizam College 158 (Dhananjay Singh 45 not out, Abrar Ahmed four for 63, Iftekharuddin six for 46). 

Gemini Friends 155 lost to Khalsa 159 for eight ( Saeb Ali Khan 79 not out, Mel Binto 30).

Our’s 158 lost to Jai Bhagwathi 159 for four ( Rahul Patangay 68 not out).

Hyd Titans 281 bt P & T Colony 240 (Rana Pratap 64, Avinash Sharma 31, Jairaj four for 42, Chandrakant Dixit four for 53).

Balaji Colts 354 (Navdeep Singh 145, Ratan Sharma 50, Shilpa Brahma 54, Akender four for 55, Mohammed Arshar three for 57) vs Brothers XI.

A-Division one-day league: HGC 104 (Charan 42) lost to Kishoresons 105 for six.

 SUCC 226 for six (Layaqath 36, Kaber 36, Feroz 35, Naveed 40) bt St. Mary’s 127 (Kundan 37).

Naina triumphs

Naina Jaiswal of Hyderabad won the sub-junior girls’ singles title in the National ranking table tennis championship (Central Zone) in Kutch on Tuesday, according to information received here.

She defeated Aishwariya Patak of Uttar Pradesh 11-4, 11-6, 11-7, 11-5 in the final. Earlier, Naina got the better of Shruti Amruth of Maharashtra 11-3, 9-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-7 in the semifinal and defeated Soundraya (UP) 11-3, 11-6, 11-8 in the quarterfinal.

OU football team

Osmania University football team to take part in the Central Zone Inter-university championship to be held in Gwalior from October 7 to 12 was named here.

The players should report to coach Yezdani at Nizam College Ground at 7.00 a.m. on October 2.

The team: Sk. Ahmed Bawaazan (St. Paul), P. Sri Kumar (New Silver Jubilee), Mazher Ali (Anwar-ul-Uloom), Prem Bihari (Bhavan’s), Sayeed Bayzeed (Nava Chaitanya), D. Arun Kumar (PV Ram Reddy), Syed Najeeb (OU Arts), R.Vignesh (Sai Sudhir), John Rodricks (Bhavan’s), Zubair Bin Sultan (St. Mary’s), Al Jabri Fahad (Anwar-ul-Uloom), Md. Murtuza Hussain (Anwar-ul-Uloom), Anuj (Bhavan’s), Teja Pavan Kumar (Nizam College), Md. Abdul Rehman (Anwar-ul-Uloom), A. Akshay (Little Flower), L. Srinivas (AV College) and Syed Saad Hussain (Anwar-ul-Uloom).

Maheep slams double ton

A. Maheep Kumar’s 250 and Nova’s unbeaten 101 helped Guntur pile up 476 for eight in 126 overs against Prakasam in the ACA Central Zone under-16 inter-district tournament here on Tuesday.

The scores: Prakasam 116 vs. Guntur 476 for eight in 126 overs (Maheep Kumar 250, Nova 101 batting).

West Godavari 422 in 168.4 overs (Dinesh Sai Pavan 168, S. Naidu 51, Nikhil 45, Anurag three for 47) vs. Krishna 78 for two in 25 overs (Y. Sandeep 46 batting).

Satavahana College

beats Nalanda

Satavahana College defeated Nalanda Degree College by three wickets in the Krishna University West Zone inter-collegiate cricket tournament here on Tuesday. Nalanda scored 134 in 29 overs and Satavahana overhauled the total in 23 overs losing seven wickets.

The scores: Nalanda 134 in 29 overs (B.S. Reddy 27, Kondal Rao three for 27) lost to Satavahana 136 for seven in 23 overs (T.K. Ganesh 48, Kishore 25).

Siddhartha, Maris Stella triumph

P.B. Siddhartha Arts and Science College and Maris Stella College won the men’s and women’s titles in the Krishna University inter-collegiate chess tournament that concluded here on Tuesday.

The placings: Men: 1. P.B. Siddhartha Arts and Science College (12); 2. Kakarabharthi Bhavanarayana College (10.5); 3. DMS-SVH College of Engineering, Machilipatnam (10); 4. SRR & CVR College (9.5).

Women: 1. Maris Stella College (12); 2. Kakarabharthi Bhavanarayana College (7); 3. Montessori Mahila Kalasala (3); 4. Siddhartha Law College (2).

Pat for Mithun

Mithun Chakravarthy from Koneru Lakmaiah University won a bronze medal in shot put (11.59m) in the AP junior athletic meet that concluded at Warangal on Monday.

Hakeem and Archana emerge champions

M.A. Hakeem of BSNL and Archana of Reserve Bank of India emerged men’s and women’s singles champions respectively in the inter-institutional carrom tournament here on Tuesday.

The results: Men: Final: M. A. Hakeem (BSNL) bt V. Anil Kumar (AG) 24-18, 20-25, 25-4. Third place: R. D. Dinesh Babu (AG) bt V. S. K. Naidu (RBI) 25-8, 25-8.

Women: Archana (RBI) bt Sujani (21st Century) 24-13, 25-7. Third place: Aparanjitha Rani (NFC) bt Nirupa (AP Transco) 19-13, 24-11.

Hat-trick for

Ravi Parekh

Ravi Parekh scored a hat-trick as Jindal Steel defeated Tata Steel 4-0 in Pool B of the all-India inter-steel plant hockey championship at the Trishna ground here on Tuesday.

Rourkela Steel Plant defeated Visakhapatnam Steel Plant 5-2 with a brace each from Rajan Kandula and Alsem Lakre.

Rourkela meets Tata Steel, while Jindal faces VSP in the semifinals on Wednesday.

The results:

Pool A: Rourkela Steel Plant 5 (Rajan Kandula 8, 12 & 58, Alsem Lakre 27 & 32) bt Visakhapatnam Steel Plant 2 (Dung Dung 56, Vallentine Das 60).

Pool B: Jindal Steel Plant 4 (Poulouse Ekka 2, Ravi Parekh 8, 20 & 40) bt Tata Steel 0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

TN falls short against Kerala; Tripura defiant

Tamil Nadu failed to gain the first-innings lead on day three of the Col. C.K. Nayudu Trophy match against Kerala here. Resuming on 173 f... »