regional round-up

print   ·   T  T  

Good Faith HS

posts win

Good Faith High School beat Boys Town 2-0 in the Airtel Rising Stars inter-school football tournament on Saturday.

The results: Good Faith HS 2 (Shoeb Sarwar 1, Adnan Ali Zakir 1) bt Boys Town 0; Nizam Boys Town bt St. Andrews HS 1-0 (Imran Khan); St. Maaz HS 2 (Mustafa 1, Yusuf 1) bt  Nishanth HS 1; Hira Care HS bt St. Marayam HS 1-0 (Ateeq).

Shashank wins

M. Theertha Shashank and Fatima Javeria won the boys’ and girls’ under-14 titles in the AITA Talent Series tennis tournament organised by NVK Tennis Academy here.

The results: Finals: Boys: Under-14: M. Theertha Shashank bt Venkat Anikait 4-2, 4-1; Under-12: Gaurav Kurva bt Iqbal 4-1, 5-3.

Girls: Under-14: Fatima Javeria bt Mirca Jaiswal 4-2, 5-3; Under-12: Grishma Lipika bt S. K. Musharat 4-1, 4-1.

OU football probables

Osmania University named 30 football probables to attend a coaching camp to be held at Nizam College here from September 23.

The probables who should report to coach Yezdani at the venue are: Sk. Ahmed Bawazaan, L. Srikiran, Shadaab, Mazher Ali, Prem Bihari, D. Arun Kumar, Sayeed Bayzeed, Syed Najeeb, M. Ramu, R. Vignesh, Y. Krishna Reddy, Prudhvi, Preet Singh, D.B. Shanker, Akshay, Surya Kumar, AlJabri Fahad Bin, Zubair Bin Sultan, John Rodriques, Syed Saad Hussain, V. Vikesh, Md. Murtuza Hussaini, L. Srinivas, Md. Abdul Rehman, Waseem Ahmed, Teja Pavan Kumar, Anuj, A. Zain and Mohsin, Sandeep. Coach: Yezdani.

HCA league ties

put off

All the HCA league matches scheduled to be held at different venues in the city on September 22 have been postponed due to wet ground conditions.

Inter-institution carrom

The RBI-sponsored inter-institutional carrom championship will be organised by Hyderabad Carrom Association on its premises from September 27 to 30.

Entries close by September 26 for the event which features team championships on league-cum-knock-out format, and women’s and men’s singles in knock-out format.

Only PSUs, Central Government offices and software companies are eligible to take part.

Entries should be mailed to or to . For details, call 9440307023.


joint winners

Deccan Polo and Riding Club and Hyderabad Polo and Riding Club were declared joint winners of the Army Commanders Trophy when the two teams finished the final tied 7-7 on Saturday.

The result: HPRC 7 (D. Srikar 1, Tarun Bilwal 2, Gaurav Sahgal 2, Samir Suhag 2) drew with DPRC 7 (Dhananjay Singh Rathore 2, Manupal Godara 2, Vishal Singh 3).

NZ-1 and CZ-2

share title

North Zone-1 scored an innings victory over South Zone-2 in the ACA senior inter-zonal tournament at Anantapur on Saturday.

North Zone-1 and Central Zone-2 topped the table with 12 points each at the end of the tournament.

The scores: South Zone (2) 156 and 126 in 50.4 overs (L.N. Prasad Reddy 41, Sankar Rao five for 49, Suresh three for 36) lost to North Zone (1) 299 in 89 overs (Siva Kumar 161, Arun Kumar six for 82, Praveen three for 56).

Central Zone (2) 508 and 75 for one in 16 overs (Ch. Ramesh 46 n.o, Harshvardhan Naidu 26) drew with North Zone 162 in 61.3 overs (Chiranjeevi 34, Kashyap 33, Harish three for 34, A.G. Praveen four for 54).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Saina’s remarkable resurgence

Last summer, Saina Nehwal needed a second wind to resurrect her career as an elite player. It was during the Uber Cup in New Delhi that f... »