print   ·   T  T  

Zia-ul-Haq wins 50m breaststroke

Zia-ul-Haq of GHMC Sanathnagar clinched honours in the boys’ under-14 50m breaststroke event of the GHMC swimming competitions held at Secunderabad Pool here.

The results: Non-medallist: Boys: 50m breaststroke: Under-8: 1. P. Kashif (SAAP) 01:14.49, 2. Neeraj (SAAP), 3. Suhaas (Gopichand Academy). Under-10: 1. Ghouse Khan (GHMC, Moghalpura) 50.09, 2. K. Lalith Sagar (GHMC, SD), 3. Saketh & Rohan Reddy. Under-12: 1. Poojith (GHMC Sec’bad) 1:01.68, 2. Shareen (LB Stadium), 3. Venesh (GHMC Sec’bad). Under-14: 1. Zia-ul-Haq (GHMC Sanathnagar) 33.30, 2. Vishesh (GHMC Sec’bad), 3. Anand (GHMC Sec’bad). 50m freestyle: Boys: Under-8: 1. Sai Praneesh Kumar (GHMC VNC) 0:44.04, 2. G. Sai Rohit (GHMC MPR), 3. Sai Teja (OU). Under-10: 1. Siva Ram (GHMC, Moghalpura) 35.82, 2. Akhil (GHMC VNC), 3. Hamza (Glendale Academy). Under-12: 1. K. Charan (GSC) 33.50, 2. K. Sairaj (GHMC), 3. Sameer Tomar and M. Abhishek). Under-14: 1.Gurunath Sai (St. Peters) 32.62), 2. Abhishek , 3. Prithvi (LBS). 50m breaststroke: Girls: Under-8: 1. Kaveri (SAAP) 1: 20.50, 2. Sneha Singh (SAAP), 3. Rishaika (GHMC Sec’bad). Under-10: 1. Poojitha (GHMC Sec’bad) 1:01.68, 2. Shireen (GHMC Sec’bad), 3. Vinisha. Under-14: 1. P.S. Tejasvi (GHMC Sanathnagar) 33.30, 2. Patel (Indus), 3. Sirisha (VV Sports Club). 50m freestyle: Under-8: 1. Shreshta 1:13:00, 2. Rishika (GHMC), 3. Bhanu Shreee (St. Peter’s). Under-10: 1. P. Snigdha Reddy (VV Sports Club) 56.11, 2. Ramya (VVSC), 3. Krithika (St. Peter’s). Under-12: 1. Sai Manasa (GHMC Sec’bad) 37.18, 2. Nadiar (LB Stadium), 3. Danish (GHMC Sec’bad). Under-14: 1. Babitha 38.34, 2. Manvi (GHMC Sec’bad), 3. Aishwarya (GHMC Sec’bad).

Jyothi sizzles

Jyothi Sai Krishna’s 105 for Central Zone (2) against North Zone (1) was the highlight of the rain-marred ACA inter-zonal tournament for the Venkatagiri Trophy at Anantapur on Sunday.

CZ (2) was 190 for seven in 54 overs when rain interrupted play. In the other match, CZ (1) was 87 for seven in 28 overs in reply to SZ (2)’s 116. There was no play between South Zone (1) and North Zone (2) due to rain.

The scores: Central (1) 87 for seven in 28 overs (Jagadeesh four for 49, Arun Kumar Reddy three for 32) v South (2) 116; Central (2) 190 for seven in 54 overs (Jyothi Sai Krishna 105, Swaroop Kumar 25, Ajay Kumar three for 64, G.V.S. Prasad three for 35) vs. North (1); South (1) 10 for no loss in five overs v North (2).

Srinivasa Rao triumphs

T. Srinivasa Rao won the 125th Krishna District Open chess tournament, garnering 4.5 points out of five rounds at the Patamata indoor stadium here on Sunday. T. Naresh and M. Sambasiva Rao took the second and third places.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Advani, Alok recommended

Pankaj Advani and Alok Kumar have been recommended for the Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri respectively by the Billiards and Snooker Federat... »