BANGALORE: In a clash that almost mirrored sibling rivalry, Presidency School, Nandini Layout defeated Presidency School, RT Nagar to clinch the Boost Cup under-16 title here on Wednesday.

In the final at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Presidency, Nandini Layout defeated defending champion Presidency, RT Nagar by five wickets.

Presidency, RT Nagar scored 192 for eight in 50 overs with Abhinav Manohar (47) guiding the innings. Later, Presidency, Nandini Layout scored the winning runs in 47 overs with ‘Man of the final’ Vijay Kumar’s 58 anchoring the chase.

In a well attended investiture ceremony, KSCA secretary Brijesh Patel, assistant secretary Sudhakar Rao, National Cricket Academy director Sandeep Patil and coach B. Arun distributed the prizes.

The awardees: Man of the series: K. Nishchith (JIRS); Best batsman: D. Nischal (Presidency, Nandini); Best bowler: R.S. Karthikeyan (Bishop Cotton Boy’s School).

The scores (final): Presidency School, RT Nagar 192 for eight in 50 overs (Abhinav Manohar 47, Rahul Sheokand 34, Md. Saif 28, P.B. Sudeep three for 23) lost to Presidency School, Nandini Layout 196 for five in 47 overs (Vijay Kumar 58, Varun 35, Zunaid Khan three for 29).

Uttara to meet Jacqueline

Uttara Prakash defeated top-seeded Saumya Padhye 21-15, 21-9 and set up a title clash with Jacqueline Rose Kunnath in the women’s singles event of the Wearhouse-Sadhashivanagar Club State-ranking badminton championship here on Wednesday. Jacqueline entered the final after her rival Adafta Taqvi, who trailed 18-21, 0-3, conceded the match.

The results: Girls: Under-19 (quarterfinals): Poorvisha S. Ram bt Mira Mahadevan 21-10, 21-15; Vaishnavi Iyer bt Uttara Prakash 21-9, 21-17; Reshma Karthik bt Anagha Unni 21-5, 21-11; Jacqueline Kunnath bt Priya Prakash 21-17, 21-11.

Women: Semifinals: Uttara Prakash bt Saumya Padhye 21-15, 21-9; Jacqueline Kunnath bt Adfataqui 21-18, 3-0 (conceded).

Men: Quarterfinals: Mohit Kamat bt Adarsh Kumar 21-12, 21-7; B.S. Phalgun bt Anil Pradhan 21-4, 21-5.

Students Union posts win

Students Union beat AGORC 2-0 in a Group ‘D’ clash of the Prasanna Kumar Memorial football tournament here on Wednesday. Arun Kumar (42nd minute) and Aboobacker (71st) scored.

In another match, Dharwad District edged past Southern Blues by an odd goal in three. Ratnapaul gave Dharwad the lead in the 20th minute, but Arnold equalised for Blues. However, Dharwad’s Issac struck the match-winner in the 64th minute.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper