Prasath sets new meet record

print   ·   T  T  
BLISTERING RUN: MCC’s N. Prasath (centre) exults after setting a new 100m meet record.
BLISTERING RUN: MCC’s N. Prasath (centre) exults after setting a new 100m meet record.

Sports Reporter

Chennai: Two meet records tumbled on day two of the A.L. Mudaliar inter-collegiate athletics meet here on Tuesday, one to Loyola and the other to Madras Christian College. Fittingly, a mere four points separate these two colleges at the top of the men’s overall standings (Loyola 48, MCC 44) going into the final day of the meet.

MCC’s N. Prasath sliced 0.15 seconds off the old 100m meet record, set by Velammal’s A. Aravind in 2003-04, finishing in 10.40 seconds. “This was my personal best time; it was 10.6 earlier,” he said, beaming. “After the first 40 metres, I knew I’d win.”In the 400m, Loyola’s J. Premanand opened up a wide lead in the first 100m, which his college-mate D. Deepak Rathina steadily eroded over the next two turns. Fifty metres from the finish, Deepak found Premanand well within his reach and, with a final thrust, took the race by a 0.2 second margin. Both went past the old meet record of 48.9 seconds, set by Loyola’s D. Johnson Selvakumar back in 1996-97. Deepak’s run was timed at 47.9 seconds.

In the women’s section, MOP Vaishnav extended its lead over Ethiraj to 34 points, winning three golds in Tuesday’s five finals.

The results: Men: 100m: 1. N. Prasath (MCC) 10.4s, 2. A. Premkumar (AM Jain) 10.7, 3. T. Balamurugan (Loyola) 11.0; 400m: 1. D. Deepak Rathina (Loyola) 47.9s, 2. J. Premanand (Loyola) 48.1, 3. M. Purushothaman (Pachaiyappa’s) 51.6; 10,000m: 1. B. Ezhilnilayan (Loyola) 32:43.8s, 2. Alagesan (MCC) 33:41.9, 3. R. Santhosh Kumar (Loyola) 34:55.8; Long jump: 1. R.S. Bijil (MCC) 7.19m, 2. B. Basker (AM Jain) 7.14, 3. G. Suresh (MCC) 6.95; Shot put: 1. K. Goutham (MCC) 14.50m, 2. R. Ramadoss (Loyola) 14.03, 3. Jemirenswick Seelan (MCC) 12.62.

Women: 100m: 1. C.P. Malini (MOP Vaishnav) 12.4s, 2. S. Radhika (MOP) 12.6, 3. P. Kokila (Ethiraj) 13.5; 400m: 1. T. Renuka (Ethiraj) 57.3s, 2. J. Nisha (MOP) 58.1, 3. R. Ramya (MOP) 60.6; 10,000m: 1. P. Jothi (Ethiraj) 44:01.5s, 2. J. Sofia (MOP) 45:42.4, 3. Latha (SDNB Vaishnav) 45:53.8; 100m hurdles: 1. V. Hani (MOP) 15.0s, 2. S. Rama (JBAS) 15.9, 3. Tanya Marian Macfarlane (Stella Maris) 19.6; Discus: 1. M. Kannathal (MOP) 30.87m, 2. B. Sangeetha (MOP) 28.55, 3. Beenusha (WCC) 25.24; Javelin: 1. Kamala Catherine (WCC) 24.32m, 2. Anitha Sri (Ethiraj) 23.90, 3. B. Sangeetha (MOP) 22.98.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

The LB Shastri CC team which won the Om Nath Sood cricket tournament.

Hiten Dalal sets up LB Shastri’s triumph

Hiten Dalal’s 58-ball 99 guided LB Shastri to a comfortable six-wicket win over Collage Group in the final of the 25th all-India Sperry O... »