Twenty wickets fell in a TNCA first-division match at IIT-Chemplast on Saturday, and by close, Jolly Rovers — one of seven teams fighting for three semifinal spots, with the league in its eleventh and final round — led relegation-resigned Indian Bank by 190 runs.

Nineteen-year-old left-arm spinner K. Vignesh returned figures of seven for 29 to help Bank dismiss Rovers for 160.

But off-spinner M. Prabhu (six for 19) and left-arm spinner Prashanth K. Varma (three wickets) combined to skittle Bank out for just 32.

In the process, Prabhu crossed the 40-wicket mark for the fourth successive season. Rovers ended on 62 without loss in its second innings.

Seamer M. Mohammed (six for 33) limited Young Stars to 170 before India Pistons replied with 70 for three at SRMC (turf), while at MRF-Pachaiyappa’s, Sreekumar Nair (156 batting, 254b, 14x4, 2x6) struck his second successive century and Vijay Shankar was within five runs of doing the same as Grand Slam ran up a total of 342 for two against Globe Trotters.

Trotters, however, has already secured a semifinal spot. Young Stars and Grand Slam remain in contention, as do Vijay and Alwarpet, playing each other at IC-Guru Nanak.

Vijay began well thanks to R. Rohith (90), but Alwarpet pulled the defending champion back, to an end-of-day score of 221 for four.

UFCC (T. Nagar) — through century partnerships between Ganga Sridhar Raju (84) and M. Kamalesh (69), and Adithya Ganesh (51 batting) and B. Indrajith (88 batting) — closed on 297 for two against IOB.

Neither team is out of the semifinal race, but their paths are less straightforward.

In the only eleventh-round match that doesn’t affect the final-four placing, Aruna made 278 for five against TI Cycles. B. Rahul (79), Amith Singh R. (70), and Shikhar Hukku (76) were among the runs.

The scores (round eleven, day one): At IC-Guru Nanak: Vijay 221 for four in 90 overs (R. Rohith 90, M. Kaushik Gandhi 49) vs. Alwarpet.

At CPT-IP: UFCC (T. Nagar) 297 for two in 90 overs (Ganga Sridhar Raju 84, M. Kamalesh 69, Adithya Ganesh 51 batting, B. Indrajith 88 batting) vs. IOB.

At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 160 in 54 overs (K. Vignesh seven for 29) and 62 for no loss in 17 overs vs. Indian Bank 32 in 14.3 overs (M. Prabhu six for 19).

At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: Grand Slam 342 for two in 90 overs (Sreekumar Nair 156 batting, B. Aparajith 68, Vijay Shankar 95 batting) vs. Globe Trotters.

At Murugappa: Aruna 278 for five in 90 overs (B. Rahul 79, Amith Singh R. 70, Shikhar Hukku 76) vs. TI Cycles.

At SRMC: Young Stars 170 in 55.4 overs (M. Mohammed six for 33) vs. India Pistons 70 for three in 32 overs.

Stars of the day

K. Vignesh (Indian Bank, seven for 29)

M. Prabhu (Rovers, six for 19)

M. Mohammed (Pistons, six for 33)

Sreekumar Nair (Grand Slam, 156 batting)

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper