K. Mayil Vagana Prabhu (34 & four for five) helped Sri Krishna College of Engineering and Technology dispatch Kongunadu College of Arts and Science by 53 runs to enter the final of the CDCA inter-collegiate cricket tournament for the G.R. Prasad Trophy at the PSG Medical College grounds here on Tuesday.

In the clash for the title, Sri Krishna will take on hot favourite PSG College of Arts and Science, which defeated Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering and Technology (Pollachi) by three wickets.

The scores:

Semifinals: Sri Krishna CET 108 in 37.1 overs (K. Mayil Vagana Prabhu 34, D. Ramamoorthy four for 28) bt Kongunadu CAS 55 in 18.5 overs (N. Dinesh Kumar 31, K. Mayil Vagana Prabhu four for five, P.V.M. Srikanth three for nine-).

Dr. Mahalingam CET (Pollachi) 158 for nine in 40 overs (C. Gokul Prasath 53) lost to PSG CAS 163 for seven in 35.3 overs.

Chess trials tournament

The Coimbatore District Chess Association will conduct its selection trials tournament for boys and girls in the under-7, 13, 17 and 25 age-group at the Pattia Gounder Chellamal Kalyana Mandapam in Ganapathy on February 10.

The top two finishers in each category will represent the district in the State chess championship.

Entries close on February 9 at 8 p.m.

Registration can be done through SMS (mob: 94881 66077), email (cdcachess@gmail.com) mentioning name, category and the date of birth.

Spot entries will be treated as late entries and will be allowed to play only from the second round on payment of a late fee of Rs.30.

For details, call 94881 66077, 93632 11753 or 99528 30053.

TBBC (Thiruvottiyur) triumphs

TBBC (Thiruvottiyur) maintained a clean slate in the league to emerge the champion in the 25th annual State-level two-senior ball badminton tournament, organised by the Nanjundapuram Recreation Badminton Club at the KPM Primary School in Podanur recently.

The results (league):

TBBC (Thiruvottiyur) bt Roots (Chennai) 29-21, 29-25, bt PBBC (Palani) 29-16, 29-10, bt NRBC (Nanjundapuram) 29-26, 22-29, 29-24; NRBC bt PBBC 29-19, 29-16, bt Roots 29-21, 26-29, 29-12; Roots bt PBBC 29-22, 29-15.

Final standings: 1

. TBBC (Thiruvottiyur); 2. NRBC (Nanjundapuram); 3. Roots (Chennai); 4. PBBC (Palani).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper