Noah and Sinju better records

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
UPSURGE:Noah Nirmal Tom winning the under-18 boys' 400m with a new meet record.— Photo: Vipin Chandran
UPSURGE:Noah Nirmal Tom winning the under-18 boys' 400m with a new meet record.— Photo: Vipin Chandran

Noah Nirmal Tom’s confidence has been rising steadily this season. The 17-year-old, who won the National junior inter-zone title recently, won the under-18 boys’ 400m with a meet record at the 56th Kerala State junior athletics championship at the Maharaja’s Stadium here on Saturday.

“I was sure of the victory but the record was a big surprise,” said Noah, who is being trained by George P. Jose at the Kozhikode SAI, after his maiden State junior title.

The timing bettered his personal best too.

Meanwhile, Kottayam’s Sinju Prakash was in a record-breaking mode once again in under-20 girls’ pole vault. Sinju, who has a personal best of 3.35m, bettered the meet mark with a 3.31m effort.

The winners:

Boys, under-20: 100m: Jijin Vijayan (Mlp) 10.9s. 400m: Jithu Baby (Alp) 48.73s. 110m hurdles: Akhil Johnson (Koz) 14.92s. 10,000m walk: V.R. Renjith (Ekm) 48:53.3s. Triple jump: Jithin Thomas (Ekm) 14.47m. Decathlon: Abin K. Noble (Tvm) 5994 pts.

Under-18: 100m: Jeris Jose (Ekm) 10.92s. 400m: Noah Nirmal Tom (Koz) 48.99s NMR (OR 49.25). 110m hurdles: E.P. Jishad (Mlp) 15.01s. 10,000m walk: P. Kishore (Pkd) 51:44.3s. Triple jump: B. Abin (Ekm) 14.61m. Octathlon: Amal Manohar Tvm) 5180 pts. Medley relay: Thrissur (2:00.73s). Shot put: V.K. Akesh Kumar (Tvm) 16.15m.

Under-16: 100m: A.G. Rakhil (Pkd) 11.38m. 400m: C. Jithesh (Pkd) 51.08s. 100m hurdles: Albin Sabu (Pkd) 14.06s. 5000m walk: T.K. Arundev (Koz) 25:30.2s. Medley relay: Palakkad 2:03.1s NMR (OR 2:03.86). Shot put: Jestin Jain (Ekm) 12.57m.

Under-14: 100m: Pranav Sasi (Ekm) 12.28s. Long jump: M. Jishnu (Mlp) 5.75m. High jump: Lenin Joseph (Ekm) 1.68m. Shot put: U. Nikhil (Pkd) 12.23m.

Girls, under-20: 100m: C. Rangitha (Knr) 12.56s. 400m: R. Anu (Tsr) 56.46s. 100m hurdles: P.G. Adheena (Klm) 15.18s. 10,000m walk: Femi George (Ktm) 59:58.2s. Pole vault: M.K. Sinju Prakash (Ktm) 3.31m NMR (OR 3.30). Hammer: K.B. Bhagyalakshmi (Ekm) 35.90m.

Under-18: 100m: P.M. Anju (Pkd) 12.52s. 400m: Nimina Mathew (Ekm) 59.13s. 100m hurdles: T.S. Arya (Idk) 14.77s. 5000m walk: A.M. Bincy (Koz) 26:23.9s. Long jump: Athira Surendran (Knr) 5.76m. Pole vault: Mariya Jaison (Ktm) 2.70m. Medley relay: Palakkad (2:20.18s). Javelin: C.K. Prajitha (Mlp) 41.16m.

Under-16: 100m: P.V. Viny (Pkd) 13.2s. 400m: Shaharbana Sidhique (Koz) 57.91s. 100m hurdles: Aleena Vincent (Idk) 15.84s. 3000m walk: K.T. Neena (Pkd) 16:20.7s. Long jump: Sterina Joseph (Tvm) 4.97m. Medley relay: Palakkad (2:25.62s).

Under-14: 100m: Jisna Mathew (Koz) 12.99s. High jump: Anjaly Thomas (Ktm) 1.43m. Shot put: Shalu Prahladhan (Ekm) 8.48m.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Pires assaulted?

The organisers of Indian Super League were on Friday investigating claims that former French international Robert Pires was punched on th... »