HYDERABAD: National Defence Academy ‘A’ defeated National Defence Academy ‘B’ by seven goals to four goals to win the Bison Polo Trophy of Hyderabad Polo Season at Bison Polo Grounds here on Thursday.

NDA ‘A’ began with an advantage of two goals and further consolidated its position when Satar Khan scored three goals and S.S. Rathore two goals. For the loser, Bhawani Singh struck four times. Brig. B.A. Prasad, VSM, Deputy Chairman of BRPI, gave away the trophies.

Jishnu, Kaushik win

Jishnu Vakaria and V.S.S. Kaushik bagged a double each in the boys categories of the GHMC annual Open table tennis tournament here.

The results (all finals):

Men’s singles: T. Arundhar (SCR) bt A. Vijay Kumar (AWA) 11-9, 11-8, 9-11, 11-5, 11-4; Junior boys: V. S. S. Kaushik (AWA) bt Arsh Agarwal (SPTTA) 13-11, 7-11, 7-11, 11-5, 12-10, 11-8; Sub-junior boys: Jishnu Vakaria bt Ashkan Dastani (SPTTA) 11-6, 11-8, 11-4, 11-5; Youth boys: V. S. S. Kaushik (AWA) bt Arsh Agarwal (SPTTA) 5-11, 11-9, 13-11, 11-8, 8-11, 14-12; Cadet boys: Jishnu Vakaria (GSM) bt Ali Mohd (SPTTA) 11-3, 11-9, 11-8.

Veterans’ men: C. Srinivas (YMCA) bt M. Hemanth Kumar (CE) 11-3, 4-11, 11-9, 14-12.

Women’s singles: Nikhat Bhanu (GSM) bt M. Harshitha (AWA) 14-12, 11-4, 15-13, 11-3; Junior girls: Nikhat Bhanu (GSM) bt T. L. Harshitha (AWA) 11-9, 11-5, 11-9, 14-12; Sub-junior girls: S. Akshi bt T. L. Harshitha 9-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-7, 11-9; Youth girls: S. Akshi (GSM) bt M. Harshitha (AWA) 8-11, 11-7, 11-2, 11-5, 11-7; Cadet girls: Nina (LBS) bt Lasya (GSM) 11-3, 11-3, 11-8.

Veterans’ women: Sarojini (Secretariat) bt K. Jaya Lakshmi (APHB) 6-11, 11-9, 11-9, 7-11, 11-4.

Kasturba triumphs

Kasturba Gandhi College won the Osmania University inter-college chess tournament for women with 17 points while Chaitanya Bharati Institute of Technology (CBIT) finished second with 13.5 points. Dr. Sri Prabha, Principal, Kasturba Gandhi College, gave away the prizes.

Final placings: 1. Kasturba Gandhi College 17 pts, 2. CBIT 13.5 pts, 3. St. Ann’s College 12 pts, 4. St. Pious College 11 pts, 5. St. Francis College 10.5 pts, 6. Wesley College 10.5 pts, 7. Radhey Krishna College 10 pts, 8. DBPM College 10 pts.

Charminar cricket

Charminar Gold Cup under-19 prize money cricket tournament, to be organised by Charminar Sports Academy, has been postponed and will now commence from September 30.

The winner will get prize money of Rs. 3 lakhs, and the runner-up Rs 1.5 lakhs. For details contact charminar1996@yahoo.com or Director of the CSA, Mohd Sirajuddin Ahmed, on Phone No. 9392436473. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper