The JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship 2013 will mark a decade of the Nation’s only go-karting event. The opening round of this edition will get underway at the 650 metre long Kart Centre at Lahari Resorts here on Saturday.

More than 45 drivers, including Kush Maini, Yash Aradhaya, Nayan Chatterjee, Tejas Chandrashekar and Abhirath Shetty and Vishnu Prasad, Chittesh Mandody, and Akhil Rabindra as well as last year’s defending champions Pradyumn V Danigond, Krishnaraj Mahadik and Ameya Bafna will be in the fray.

The winners of the JK Tyre National Rotax Max Karting Championship 2013 will represent India at the 2013 Rotax Grand Finals in USA.

They will compete in three categories viz; Micro Max (7 to 12 years), Junior Max (13 to 16 years) and Senior Max (15 and above). The championship, spread over five rounds will be held at tracks in Coimbatore & Bangalore. Chennai’s Dark Don Racing and Bangalore-based India Karting will make their debut this year.

The Hyderabad leg will begin with official practice for the three categories on Saturday. This will be followed by the qualifiers starting at 11:45 am on the same day. Heat 1 and 2 and the main races will be held on Sunday.

Sanjay Sharma, Head - Motorsport, JK Tyre & Industries Limited, said, “the National karting championship is a proven springboard for young contenders who want to make a name for themselves in the highly competitive world of professional motorsport.”JK Tyre is credited with introducing the concept of karting in India and has patronized karting circuits across the country. The event can also be followed online. — Special Correspondent


Have unlimited family fun from March 31 March 21, 2014

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper