With four matches played simultaneously on two courts, it should be a lively atmosphere, when the inaugural edition of the National basketball 3x3 championship is staged at the Thyagaraj Indoor Stadium here on April 10 and 11.

The championship, which will help identify eight players each in the men’s and women’s sections for preparation to represent the country in the Asian Championship in Doha and Bangkok in May, will feature 20 teams in the men’s section and 16 in the women’s section.

The teams have been divided into five groups in the men’s event, and four groups in the women’s competition. Two teams from each group will qualify for the knock-out.

The opening day is expected to feature only the league matches, which will be played on a half court, and the matches will be on a 10-minute format or a match will end when a team scores 21 points.

There will be only one basket and the teams will take turns to shoot.

It may be recalled that the Indian women’s team of Geethu Anna Jose, Anitha Paul Durai, Shireen Limaye and Kiranjit Kaur, had won the gold in the third Asian Beach Games in Haiyang, last year, beating host China in the final.

The groupings:

Men: Group-A: Kerala, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh.

Group-B: Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Railways, Rajasthan.

Group-C: Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh.

Group-D: Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Chandigarh.

Group-E: Karnataka, Tripura, Delhi, Andhra Pradesh.

Women: Group-A: Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Railways.

Group-B: Punjab, Maharashtra, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh.

Group-C: Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Delhi.

Group-D: Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper