HYDERABAD: Naren Reddy (120) helped Ours Cricket Club score a 67-run win over Zinda Tilismath in the A-Division (two-day) league cricket championship match here on Thursday.

For the loser, the efforts of J. Mallikarjun (119) and Md. Aslam (107 not out) went in vain.

The scores:

A-Division (two-day) league: Ours 380 (Jayawardene 78, Naren Reddy 120, Ashwin Kumar 62, Chandrahas Naidu four for 26) bt Zinda Tilismath 313 for five (J. Mallikarjun 119, Md. Aslam 107 not out).

Cambridge XI 124 (Abubakar four for 19) lost to SBI 127 for three (Sk. Urooj 73 not out).

Vijay Hanuman 289 ( Sangram Reddy 104, Mirza Ayub Baig 57, Jwala Singh 67 not out, Varun four for 51) bt Gujarathi 229 (Shanthi 42, Bharath 78, Mirza Ayub Baig seven for 105).

Bhavan’s wins title

Bhavan’s Vivekananda College defeated Kasturba College 16-5 in the final of the Osmania University inter-college softball championship for women here. For the winner, Monika Reddy, Akshaya and Divya Sagar played well.

St. Ann’s College defeated St. Francis College 10-1 to settle for third place.

Jagruthi wins

Jagruthi Degree College won the Osmania University inter-college chess tournament for men with 26.5 points at the end of final round.

MVSR Engineering College (23) and OU College of Engineering (18.5) finished second and third respectively.

Final placings: 1. Jagruthi Degree College 26.5 pts, 2. MVSR Eng. College 23 pts, 3. OU College of Engineering 18.5 pts, 4. CBIT 18 pts, 5. Nizam College 18 pts, 6. AV College 17 pts, 7. Bhavan’s Vivekananda College 16 pts and 8. Govt. College, Khairatabad, 16 pts.

DSA selections

District Sports Authority of Hyderabad will organise selections for women at the mandal level in 16 mandals in swimming, table tennis (both at Lal Bahadur Stadium), basketball and handball (at Gymkhana Grounds) to send the teams for district selections in connection with National Sports Festival for women.

The mandal-level games will be organised on September 23 and the district-level on September 25.

Further particulars can be had from Phone No. 27900649.

Surya is champion

K. Praneeth Surya emerged champion with five points after outwitting A.K. Raju in the final round of the Kargil Victory Festival chess tournament here. Karthik and Venu Madhav finished second and third respectively.

The results: Final round: K. Praneeth Surya (5) bt A.K. Raju (3); Venu Madhav (4) bt Gopi Krishna (3); Karthik (4) bt K. Prabhath (3); Prateek (3.5) bt K. Muralinath (2); Y. Murali Mohan (3) bt Pratyush (2); Anjaneyulu (3) bt Raghav (2); Yashwanth Reddy (3) bt Pranav (1); Shreyas (1) bye.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper