VISAKHAPATNAM: Holder Mumbai moved into the semifinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament, beating Tamil Nadu by 59 runs in the quarterfinals, at the ACA-VDCA Stadium here on Friday.

Rohit Sharma made a brisk century 100 (89b, 8 x 4, 3 x 6) and S. Kukreja marked his debut with a fine half-century (69, 7 x 4, 90b) as Mumbai piled up 285 for nine.

Then medium-pacer Usman Malvi struck quick early blows in Tamil Nadu’s innings to send back top three batsmen back with only 29 runs on the board. S. Anirudha (21) played on, Vijay (4) edged to wicketkeeper Aditya Tare and Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan (0) was trapped in front of the wicket.

Karthik bats well

Tamil Nadu could not recover from the set-back though Dinesh Karthik (47, 7 x 4, 51b) played a fine knock and tried to bring the team back into fight before being deceived by a flighted delivery from Romesh Powar, just a ball after S. Suresh Kumar was run out going for a second run. The over also saw umpire R. Subramaniam calling it an over after Dinesh fell in the fifth ball.

After Malvi had wrecked the top order, India u-19 left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah prised out S. Badarinath (20), R. Prasanna (16) and R. Ashwin (15).

Fine batting by youngsters M.K. Siva Kumar (56, 8 x 4) and V. Yomahesh (30, 4 x 3) in an unbeaten stand of 80 for the ninth wicket was some consolation for Tamil Nadu.

Electing to bat, Mumbai was provided a good start with Kukreja and Ajinkay Rahane (32) putting on 62 runs. Rohit Sharma, who was dropped on one by Ashwin, added 119 for the second wicket with Kukreja.

Rohit was bowled by medium pacer P. Amarnath and Tamil Nadu struck at regular intervals. Amarnath and Ashwin claimed two wickets, while Yomahesh, Siva Kumar and Prasanna had one each.

Mumbai meets Bengal in the semifinals on April 7.

The scores:

Mumbai 285 for nine in 50 overs (Rohit Sharma 100, S. Kukreja 69) bt Tamil Nadu 226 for eight in 50 overs (M.K. Siva Kumar 56 n.o., K. Dinesh Karthik 47). — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper