HYDERABAD: Indian Airlines scored a 1-0 win over Deccan Blues in the A-2 division hockey league championship at Gymkhana Grounds here on Sunday.

The match-winner came through triple Olympian Nandnuri Mukesh Kumar who converted a penalty-corner in the first-half.

Rakesh strikes twice

Ramakrishnapuram scored a 2-0 win over Venkatapuram in the Sachdev Sports Cup under-16 football tournament organised by Shastri Soccer Club at Trimulgherry Village Grounds.

After a barren first-half, Rakesh scored in the 10th and 30th minutes.

Akhil, Satvika shine

Akhil of Don Bosco and Sathvika of Nasr School clinched honours in the under-10 category races for boys and girls respectively in the 12th Andhra Pradesh summer road races organised by Athletics Coaching Academy at Lal Bahadur Stadium.

The results:

Men: 4 km: 1. B. Ramesh (Hyd) 13:07; 2. Dashrath (AV College); 3. Ashok (OU).

Women: 3 km: 1. M. Shruthi (OU) 9:51; 2. Rajyalakshmi (SCR); 3. Uma Maheshwar (Hyd).

Boys: Under-16: 3 km: 1. Rajender Singh (BSC) 9:20; 2. Syed Vazir (OU); 3. Mushtaq (BSC).

Under-13: 1.5 km: 1. Nagarjuna Reddy (NHS) 5:11; 2. Syed Fahad (NVS); 3. Ved Prakash (GNHS).

Under-10: 1.5 km: 1. Akhil (Don Bosco) 5:18; 2. Rahul Singh (Don Bosco); 3. Dwarak (Oxford).

Girls: Under-16: 3 km: 1. Neharika (SAI)10:42; 2. Arshiya Begum (Mehboobia); 3. Shabnam (Hyd).

Under-13: 1.5 km: 1. Laasya (HPS Begumpet) 5:56; 2. Mounika (St. Francis); 3. Arifa Khan (KVS).

Under-10: 1.5 km: 1. Sathvika (Nasr) 6:26.2; 2. Keerthi (KVS); 3. Tulasi (NVR).

Veterans: 1.5 km: 1. Moula Ali (Forest Dept) 5:26; 2. Liaquat Ali Khan (Hyd); 3. Guruva Rao (Hyd).

Teja wins title

Krishna Teja emerged winner by virtue of better progressive score despite tying with two other players — U. Srisanketh and Praneeth Surya — with four points each in the Invitational chess tournament organised by Jayaprada Chess Academy.

Final placings: Seniors: 1. Krishna Teja, 2. Praneeth Surya, 3. U. Srisanketh, 4. Manoj Sainath, 5. Keerthana Sarvani.

Juniors: 1. S.S.V. Aditya, 2. Dheeraj, 3. G.V.V.S. Rao, 4. Sivanvitha, 5. G.V. Akhil, 6. Sai Swaroop, 7. Akash, 8. H. Tejaswini, 9. Sriram, 10. Venkat Raghava.

Rapid chess

The AP State seniors chess and rapid blitz championship will be held at the AP Olympic Bhavan (Lal Bahadur Stadium) here on May 25 and 26. The top two places in each category will represent the State in the forthcoming Nationals.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper