Chennai: Madras Sporting Union (MSU) cantered to a 4-0 win over AGORC, thanks to a brace by Sammy Vanlaltlana in a match of the CFA senior division football league on Wednesday.

The match started with AGORC attempting to spring MSU's off-side trap, but the tight line maintained by the defenders allowed it no such leeway.

At the other end, Vanlaltlana scored with his left-foot after dribbling past three defenders.

The few minutes after the first goal saw AGORC's strongest spell in possession, aided in no small measure by some poor decision making by MSU's defenders.

On one occasion, Kima and Nikhil Dev watched on waiting for the other to boot the ball clear as Bala Shankar stole in. But, the striker shot straight at the 'keeper to let MSU off the hook.

Patchy defence

Some patchy defence work form AGORC in the second half saw it first concede a corner and from the ensuing cross and Suresh Daniel's muffled clearance at the far post fell to Vanlaltlana who tapped in his second goal.

A few minutes later, Lalremmawia's solo run and finish made it 3-0.

Another error contributed to the fourth goal with 'keeper Samson Raj clasping thin air as a speculative cross trickled in via Lalawmpuia.

In the earlier first division match, Tamil Nadu Police defeated SBI 2-0 with M. Devaraj and M. Raman scoring for the victors.

Hat-trick by Jonathan

ONGC, BPCL, IOC (AOD) and OIL entered the semifinals of the PSPB inter-unit football tournament being held at the Nehru Stadium here.

ONGC rode on Jonathan Lalswan Zwala's hat-trick (10th, 13th & 14th) to blank CPCL 5-0. Tarif Ahamed (second) and Bumesh Patel (58th) were the other scorers.

In another league encounter on Wednesday, OIL beat GAIL 3-0.

Tuesday's result: BPCL bt CPCL 3-0 .

Imran in last four

Imran Ganj defeated the State champion S.A. Saleem 5-1 to progress to the semifinals of the TNBSA 6 Red snooker State-ranking tournament here on Wednesday. In the battle of the young guns, Dilip Kumar got the better of Varun Kumar 5-2 in another quarterfinal encounter.

The results (quarterfinals): Imran Ganj bt S.A. Saleem 5-1, Dilip Kumar bt J. Varun Kumar 5-2, Nigel Lazar bt Vijai Nichani 5-3, Harpreet Singh bt Prem Prakash 5-3 .


pair wins

K.R. Venkatraman and D. Vijay with a score of 61.7 per cent won playing East-West while K. Ranganath-T.T. Chari took the top spot from North-South with a score of 60.17 per cent in the TNSC club weekly tournament held in honour of bridge patron Dr. Boaz's 75th birthday.

Other positions: North-South: 2. Lakshmi Chari-Shrien Ryan; 3. P.S..Santhanam-V. Krishnan; East-West: 2. Sandeep Dang-Kumar; 3. B. Balaraman-Prajwal .

Mahesh's effort in vain

R. Mahesh's six for 32 went in vain as Scorpion lost to Padma Sarangapani by three wickets in the Velammal-Swastik cricket tournament being held here. K. Venkatesh (110) starred in Warriors' 56-run win over EDS in another match.

The scores:

Velammal-Swastik U-13 tournament:

MGCA 80 for four in 20 overs (R. Nikul Chand 38 not out) lost to Adambakkam CA 82 for two in 17.5 overs (R.A. Thiruvasagan 34 not out).

Velammal-Swastik (40 overs) tournament:

Scorpion 109 in 25.3 overs (J. Ezhil Mohan 33) lost to Padma Sarangapani 112 for seven in 19.4 overs (S. Rohit 36 not out, R. Mahesh six for 32).

Warriors 210 in 38.3 overs (K. Venkatesh 110, N.P. Balaji 25, Hemanth three for 31, T. Arul three for 42) bt EDS 154 in 34.5 overs (Ishwar 50, K. Vengatesh four for 15).

Tempest 120 in 34.3 overs (Nanda Balan 27, P.S. Murali three for 19, S. Vinoth Kumar three for 18) lost to Blue Dragon 124 for two in 10.2 overs (Thyagu 56, Mani 38).

Friends 186 in 33.3 overs (S. Sanjay 44, V. Krishna Kumar 42, B.R. Naveen 28, S. Deepak three for 31, M. Vijay three for 13) bt Swastik Cricket Promoters 172 in 34.1 overs (B. Prem Anand 42, S. Sanjay five for 57, K. Santhosh three for 27).

State beach volleyball

Marina Beach Volleyball Club (MBVC), in association with Tamil Nadu State Volleyball Association will organise the Uninor-State beach volleyball championship between March 4 and 6, it was announced at a press conference here on Wednesday.

The flood-lit tournament will see the participation of 128 teams in four categories — men, women, under-21 boys and girls — in a league-cum-knock out basis.

Defending champions SBI (men) and MBVC (women) have confirmed their participation, said A.J. Martin Sudhakar, General Secretary, TNSVA. He also announced that the event will have a prize pool of Rs. 50,000.

Sathyabama takes honours

Sathyabama University defeated Loyola College 89-60 in the final of the Babu Shankar memorial State-level invitation inter-collegiate basketball tournament organised by the Abinavu Trust in Salem.

In the semifinals, Sathyabama beat MCC Chennai 80-63 while Loyola defeated SIT Madurai 71-63. SIT took the third place overcoming MCC 62-50.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper