Mehar Atwal had a forgettable second day at the Usha Southern India women's amateur golf championship at the KGA course on Wednesday, but still emerged as the only player to have an under par score, a one under 143.

Mehar had just one birdie to show, on the 10th hole, for the day's effort. A poor onward nine (three over 39) was bad enough and the Delhi golfer could return only a par score on the back nine, despite a birdie at the turn.

Gurbani Singh had the day's best score of two over 74 which helped her jump from joint eighth position on Tuesday to a more respectable joint fourth along with teenager, Aditi Ashok, on eight over 152 after two rounds. Aditi, for the second day running, had a four over 76 and will surely have to pull up her socks on the final day on Thursday for a podium finish.

Vani Kapoor and Tvesa Mallik did not do anything exceptional either but continues to be with in striking distance in that order.

The scores:

Mehar Atwal (68, 75) 143; Vani Kapoor (73, 75) 148; Tvesa Mallik (74, 77) 151; Gurbani Singh (78, 74) Aditi Ashok (76, 76) 152; Millie Saroha (76, 79) 155; Anisha Padukone (78, 78) 156, Ridhima Dilawari (80, 76) 156; Raksha Phadke (75, 82) 157; Amrita Sarna (81, 79) 160.

PSPB golf tees off

The 32nd PSPB inter-unit golf tournament, which boasts of the cream of Indian amateur golfers, got off to a one day stableford event at the Eagleton Golf Resort here on Wednesday.

The tournament organised by Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd, will see the main event over the next two days on strokeplay format.

Each of the teams with a minimum of three and a maximum of five players, and the three best scores will count towards the team's day total and the two-day aggregate will decide the team championship. An individual strokeplay competition will further add to the excitement of the proceedings.

Chikkarangappa, the in-form player will spearhead the defending champion OIL India Limited `A' team which also includes Ashbeer Saini, Manav Das, Abhijeet Chadha and Rahul Bajaj.

The other players to watch out for include the likes of Khalin Joshi (GAIL), Angad Cheema (ONGC), Gagan Verma (IOCL) and three-time Sri Lankan Amateur Open winner Simarjeet Singh. The lone lady participant is India's leading amateur Gowri Monga representing GAIL.

Meanwhile, the team of Aditya Bhandarkar (Oil India) and Karan Taunk (ONGC) pipped the duo of Amit Nigam (BPCL) and Amandeep Bath (IOCL) on a countback to win the stableford competition. Both the teams had logged 46 stableford points each.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper