Special Correspondent

VISAKHAPATNAM: Anustup Mazumdar scored a century (109, 4x10, 2x6, 107b) in East Zone’s 56-run win over North Zone in the last league match of the Deodhar Trophy tournament at the ACA-VDCA here on Wednesday.

The match also saw fine performances by the three players of the under-19 World Cup champion team.

Pradeep Sangwan came up with an all-round show, picking up three wickets in East innings and hitting his first half-century in the one-day version of the game (69, 55b, 4x4, 3x6).

Earlier India U-19 captain Virat Kohli compiled a responsible 62 (4x10, 76b) and helped North recover from an unimpressive start. North made 240 for seven in reply to East’s 296 for nine.

Saurabh Tiwari of East, another member of the Indian U-19 team played a pleasing knock of 73 (3x4, 3x6, 74b). East finished third in the tournament with nine points, while North ended up at the bottom with two penalty points.

The scores:

East Zone: Arindam Das (run out) 13, I. Jaggi c Paras Dogra b Pradeep Sangwan 24, Anustup Mazumdar c & b Amit Mishra 109, Manoj Tiwari b Amit Mishra 9, Saurabh Tiwari b Sangwan 73, Lakshmi Ratan Shukla c Sanjay Badhwar b Vishal Bhatia 18, Wriddhiman Saha c Virat Kohli b Sangwan 20, Dhiraj Goswami c Yashpal Singh b Rajat Bhatia 1, S.S. Paul c V. Bhatia b R. Bhatia 6, Ranadeb Bose (not out) 2, I. Saxena (not out) 6; Extras (b-2, lb-3, nb-3, w-7): 15. Total (for nine wkts. in 50 overs): 296.

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-49, 3-65, 4-208, 5-240, 6-279, 7-282, 8-282, 9-288.

North Zone bowling: Pradeep Sangwan 10-1-54-3, Sanjay Badhwar 9-0-59-0, Amit Mishra 10-0-55-2, Rajat Bhatia 7-1-35-2, Vishal Bhatia 10-0-66-1, Yashpal Singh 4-0-22-0.

North Zone: Karan Goel lbw b D. Goswami 22, Shikhar Dhawan c Manoj Tiwari by S.S. Paul 5, Virat Kohli c Arindam Das b I. Saxena 62, Yashpal Singh (run out) 19, Rajat Bhatia st. W. Saha b Manoj Tiwari 11, Paras Dogra b I. Saxena 1, Uday Kaul (not out) 39, Amit Mishra st. Saha b Manoj Tiwari 3, P. Sangwan (not out) 69; Extras (lb-2, nb-1, w-6): 9. Total (for seven wkts. in 50 overs): 240.

Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-42, 3-96, 4-115, 5-125, 6-125, 7-134.

East Zone bowling: Ranadeb Bose 10-0-54-0, S.S. Paul 6-0-27-1, L.R. Shukla 7-0-45-0, Dhiraj Goswami 7-1-32-1, I. Saxena 10-3-22-2, Manoj Tiwari 10-0-58-2.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper