Aubhropratim Manna, the 10th seed from West Bengal, surprised Tamil Nadu’s third-seeded N.R. Visakh in the ninth round of the 24th National under-17 chess championship at Dibrugarh, Assam, on Wednesday. But West Bengal’s top-seeded Sayantan Das stayed steady, with a 1.5 points lead over his nearest rival.

Select results (open, ninth round): Sayantan Das (WB, 8) bt M. Chakravarthi Reddy (AP, 6), N. Krishna Teja (AP, 6) drew with Prince Bajaj (Del, 6), Aubhropratim Manna (WB, 6.5) bt N.R. Visakh (TN, 5.5), A. Augustin (Kar, 5.5) lost to N.R. Vignesh (TN, 6.5), Akash P.C. Iyer (TN, 6) bt Debarshi Mukherjee (WB, 5), Deep Kapoor (Del, 5.5) drew with J. Nishvin (TN, 5.5).

Girls: Shweta Gole (Mah, 5) lost to P.V. Nandhidhaa (TN, 8.5), Srija Seshadri (TN, 5) lost to P. Michelle Catherina (TN, 8), H.R. Manasa (Kar, 5) lost to Parnali S. Dharia (Mah, 7.5), U. Ashwini (TN, 4.5) lost to P. Bala Kannamma (TN, 5.5), Shiny Das (Tri, 5.5) bt Chitlange Sakshi (Mah, 4.5).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper