THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Hard-hitting batsman P.V. Manikantan is the only new face in the Kerala cricket team for the P. Subbiah Pillai Trophy one-day limited overs South Zone league tournament to be held in Hyderabad from February 10 to 16. Sreekumar Nair has been retained as captain, while Tinu Yohannan will be his deputy.

The selectors have also included Raiphy Vincent Gomez, Abhishek Hegde and P. Prasanth in the one-day squad, while omitting M. Suresh Kumar, Sunil Oasis, Ramakrishnan and C.M. Deepak who were in the Ranji Trophy squad.

The team will undergo a coaching camp to be held at Fort Maidan, Palakkad from January 29 to February 6, according to T.C. Mathew, the secretary of the Kerala Cricket Association.

The team: Sreekumar Nair (capt.), Tinu Yohannan (vice-captain), S. Ramesh, S. Suresh, Rohan Prem, Raiphy Vicent Gomez, Sony Cheruvathur, Robert Fernandez, K. Chandrasekhara, Vinan G. Nair (wicket-keeper), V.A. Jagadeesh, P. Prasanth, P.V. Manikantan and S. Sreesanth.

The schedule (Kerala's matches): February 10: vs. Tamil Nadu; February 11: vs Karnataka; February 13: vs. Goa; February 14: vs. v Hyderbad; February 16: vs. Andhra.

Three-wicket win for

Canara Bank

Canara Bank defeated Muguran CC 'B' by three wickets in the 'B' division of the Canara Bank-TDCA cricket league here.

The scores: 'B' division: Murugan CC 177 in 38 overs (Madhu 38, Mahesh 38, Vijaykumar five for 57, Manoj four for 58) lost to Canara Bank 182 for seven in 35.1 overs (Prasanth 53 not out, Kishore 40, Manoj 35, Pramod three for 26).

'C' division: AG's Office RC 218 in 39.1 overs (Anil Kumar 48, Sarath 41) bt Kingpins CC 198 in 39.2 overs (Ajith 71, Rajeev George five for 46).

All-India inter-EB

basketball tournament

The 32nd all-India inter-electricity board basketball tournament will be held at the Vyduthi Bhavan mini stadium court here from Sunday.

Nine teams including defending champion Punjab, runner-up Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Haryana, Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited, Andhra Pradesh Generation Company, Bakra-Beas Management Board and Andhra Pradesh Transmission Company besides host Kerala (which had finished third last year) will be participating in the tournament.

Samad shines for KRL

KOCHI: Kerala junior left-arm spinner Abdul Samad picked five wickets as host Kochi Refineries Limited brushed aside AMCC (Chennai) by 67 runs and entered the final of the KRL all-India cricket tournament after a five-year break at Ambalamugal on Saturday.

In Sunday's final, KRL will meet DTDC (Bangalore), which defeated Bharat Dynamics Limited (Hyderabad) by 59 runs in the other semifinal.

The scores: KRL, Kochi 203 for five in 30 overs (Abhishek Hegde 49, Vipinlal 42) bt AMCC, Chennai 136 in 26.3 overs (Abdul Samad five for 24).

DTDC, Bangalore 206 for seven in 30 overs (Sandeep Lele 50, Yogesh 42 n.o.) bt BDL, Hyderabad 147 in 25.2 overs (M.S.K. Prasad 42, Asgar Pasha four for 37).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper