Mangalore United posts win

print   ·   T  T  
Bijapur Bulls’ Gaurav Dhiman came up with an attractive knock on Thursday.
Bijapur Bulls’ Gaurav Dhiman came up with an attractive knock on Thursday.

Principal Correspondent

Bangalore: Mangalore United kept its clutch of fans in good humour with a 32-run victory over Shamanur Davangere Diamonds in a Mantri Karnataka Premier League match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Thursday.

Shamanur Davangere Diamonds’ pursuit of 161 faltered as C.M. Gautam and Srivats Puranik were dismissed by seamer S. Arvind while Yere Goud edged S.K. Moinuddin for a blob. Meanwhile opener Mayank Agarwal (34), swatted Arvind, carted Udit Patel and deposited Sinan Abdul Khaders’ delivery in to the BEML Stand.

Mayank was, however, run out and with Udit Patel having Sunil Raju (31) caught down the leg-side by a diving Rohit Sabharwal, Shamanur Davangere Diamonds lost its sparkle and scored 128 for eight in 20 overs.

Earlier, skipper Bharat Chipli’s 89 (51b, 11x4, 3x6) added depth and urgency to the Mangalore United innings. Chipli struck some booming drives down the ground off seamer M. Nagaraj and continued his merry way though rival captain Sunil Joshi cleaned up Karun Nair. Chipli was severe on seamer K.S. Srinivas and strung a sequence of 6, 6, 4, 4 but failed to notch up his hundred and with his departure, his team’s innings lost its zest. Mangalore United finished with 160 for six in 20 overs.

In the evening, a cracker of a contest was played in two identical batting parts as both Bijapur Bulls and Mysore Maharaaja’s started well before losing their way.

In the end, Bijapur Bulls snatched a five-run victory. After openers H.T. Sudhir Rao (77, 56b, 10x4, 2x6) and Nitin Bhille (35) shared a 96-run partnership in 12.3 overs, Mysore Maharaajas were better placed to surpass Bijapur Bulls 156. Sudhir clattered Stuart Binny for 4, 4, 6 but once cramps hampered his movements and Adithya Sagar stepped in as runner, Bhille and Shoaib Manager got run out.

Eventually a tired Sudhir and captain C. Raghu miscued their shots and Mysore Maharaajas stumbled to 151 for five in 20 overs. Earlier, opener Gaurav Dhiman (69, 45b, 6x4, 3x6) and number three Devraj Patil (40, 18b, 5x4, 2x6) set a scorching pace for Bijapur Bulls. Dhiman cleared the ropes with ease while Devraj scattered the attack with his lofted shots and reverse hits.

The scores: Mangalore United 160 for six in 20 overs (B. Chipli 89, Vijay Chavan 27) bt Shamanur Davangere Diamonds 128 for eight in 20 overs (M. Agarwal 34, Sunil Raju 31).

Bijapur Bulls 156 in 19.3 overs (G. Dhiman 69, Devraj Patil 40, C. Raghu four for nine) bt Mysore Maharaajas 151 for five in 20 overs (Sudhir Rao 77, Nitin Bhille 35).

Friday’s matches: Bijapur Bulls vs Malnad Gladiators; Bangalore Brigadiers vs Mangalore United.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Sarfaraz sizzles

Sarfaraz Khan’s electrifying 38-ball 62 enabled D.Y. Patil ‘A’ score a six-wicket win over State Bank of Travancore (SBT) in a league mat... »