Sitting pretty with a huge 203-run first innings lead, Maharasthra batted Karnataka out of the contest here at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday to enter the final of the Cooch Behar (under-19) Trophy.

Resuming on 50 for three, a 94-run stand between Nikhil Naik and S.S. Ranjane for the fifth wicket effectively put paid to Karnataka’s hopes of an outright win.

The visitors did eventually fold at 211 for nine (one player was injured and did not bat), but Karnataka stood no chance of reaching the target and settled for a draw.

The scores: Semifinal: Maharashtra 476 and 211 for nine in 79.3 overs (Nikhil Naik 68, S.S. Ranjane 50, J. Suchith four for 61) drew with Karnataka 273 and 96 for three in 21 overs (Rohan Kadam 33, K.N. Bharath 25 n.o.). — Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper