Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

Madras wins men’s 4x100 m relay

Share  ·   print   ·  
Shamna Mohammed, Jojimol Joseph, Manju P.M. and Neethu Rajan of MGU, Kottayam, who won the women’s 4x100m relay.
Shamna Mohammed, Jojimol Joseph, Manju P.M. and Neethu Rajan of MGU, Kottayam, who won the women’s 4x100m relay.

Sports Reporter

CHENNAI: Madras University won the men’s 4x100 m relay at the all-India inter-university athletics championships here on Wednesday.

The team comprising Al Ameen, V. Praveen, M. Prakash and D. Suresh Babu finished the race in 41.32 seconds, a shade ahead of Maharidhi Dayanand University and Punjab University. Al Ameen ran the final stretch for the winning outfit.

The women’s 4x100m relay was won by M.G. University, Kottayam, in record time. The team’s 46.48 seconds improved on Kannur University’s 2006 mark of 46.92s. Calicut University also bettered the old meet record.

Shraddha Ghule of Mumbai University won the women’s long jump with a 6.16m leap. Renubala Mahanta of Utkal University also jumped the same distance, but was relegated to second place because Shraddha’s second-best effort superseded hers.

Panjab University’s Navjoban Kaur won the women’s 10,000m final.

The results: Men: 4x100: 1. Madras University 41.32 s, 2. Maharidhi Dayanand 41.72, 3. Punjabi University 41.92; 10,000m: 1. Pramod Singh Patni (Kumaun) 31:03.14 s, 2. R. Rajesh (Bharathiyar) 31:04.64, 3. Param Singh (Kumaun) 31:12.62; Discus: 1. Kirpal Singh (GNDU) 51.65 m, 2. Baljinder Singh II (Punjabi, Patiala) 48.59, 3. Anusurai (DDU, Gorakhpur) 47.88; Decathlon: 1. Dhaneesh Steaphan (MG, Kottayam) 6385 points, 2. Charan Singh (Rajasthan) 6304, 3. Anshwin Kumar B. Menon (MG) 6062. Women: 4x100: 1. MG University 46.48 s (NMR), 2. Calicut University 46.77 (BMR), 3. Kannur University 48.13; 10,000m: Navjoban Kaur (Panjab) 35:54.68 s, 2. Ritta Kumari (HP) 36:17.22, 3. Thippavva Sankki (Mysore) 36:31.48; Long jump: 1. Shraddha Ghule (Mumbai) 6.16m, 2. Renubala Mahanta (Utkal) 6.16, 3. Liksy Joseph (MG, Kottayam) 5.98; Shot put: 1. Mukesh (Delhi) 13.92 m, 2. Rinku Sangawan (MD, Rohtak) 13.17, 3. Neelam (Kurukshetra) 12.97.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Big win for Sports Campus

Sports Campus College, Lucknow, defeated DAV Secondary School, Punjab, by 120 runs in the Coca-Cola Cricket Cup inter-State leg on Thursd... »