MANNARGUDI: M. Kunal won the title in the State senior FIDE-rated chess championship here on Saturday. Five players — Kunal, M. Vinoth Kumar, P. Maheswaran, R. Arun Karthik and T.U. Naveen Khanna — were tied for the top spot with 8.5 points each from 11 rounds. The Buchholz system was applied to decide the winner.

Important results (11th and final round): M. Vinoth Kumar 8.5 drew with R. Arun Karthik 8.5; P. Maheswaran 8.5 drew with Syed Anwar Shazuli 8; P. Lokesh 7.5 lost to M. Kunal 8.5; T.U. Naveen Kanna 8.5 bt Venkatsundaram 7; N. Ramesh Kumar 7 lost to K. Narayanan 8; K.V. Shantharam 8 bt J. Nishvin 7; M. Paramasivam 8 bt S. Vigneshwaran 7; N. Sasikumar 7 lost to D.V. Surjith 8; Ram S. Krishnan 7.5 bt G. Ravindran 6.5; P. Umamaheswaran 6.5 lost to G. Akash 7.5.

Final standings: 1. Kunal (8.5), 2. Vinoth, 3. Maheswaran, 4. Arun Karthik, 5. Naveen Kanna, 6. Narayanan, 7. Syed Anwar, 8. Surjith, 9. Paramasivam and 10. Shantharam .

Semifinalists spotted

K.K. Nagar Kings, Williams Road Warriors, Srirangam Super Stars and Township Titans entered the semifinals of the Vasan Estates-Tiruchi Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament in Tiruchi on Friday.

The scores: League: Township Titans 222 for six in 20 overs (A. Gopikrishna 70 n.o., T. Silambarasan 56, A. Alvin John Pradeep 29, R. Dharshan 26, Vinoth three for 35) bt Thillainagar Victory Royals 100 for eight in 20 overs (R. Suresh two for 17, A. Alvin John Pradeep two for 20).

Rockfort Raiders 136 in 20 overs (D. Surendradoss 65, P. Nethaji three for 25, B. Gokulakrishnan two for 28, V. Ashok Kumar two for 28) lost to Srirangam Super Stars 138 for four in 16.5 overs (E. Sivakumar 44, S.R. Mithun 40).

PCA-Sara Sports final

PCA and Sara Sports advanced to the final of the State-level cricket tournament, for the Cuddalore District Cricket Academy Trophy, at Cuddalore on Saturday.

The scores (semifinals): Cosmopolitan CC 124 for nine in 25 overs (R. Kugan 38, Prabhakaran three for 15) lost to PCA 126 for four in 21.4 overs (Rajasekar 43 n.o., Sivaraman 45, A. Sri Gopinath three for 28).

Sara Sports 195 for eight in 25 overs (Moorthy 58 n.o., Saiju 36, Ayyanar 25) bt Villupuram 137 for eight in 25 overs (Sakthivel 43, S. Saravanan three for 25).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper