KOCHI: The main phase matches of the 19th KRL all-India cricket tournament begin at the KRL Oval, Ambalamugal, on Tuesday.

Eight teams are in the fray. However, last year's champion Southern Railway (Chennai) has opted out owing to other commitments.

The teams have been divided into two groups with the top two teams progressing to the semifinals.

The groupings: Pool A: Bharath Dynamics Ltd (Hyderabad), Eagles (Chennai), KRL (Kochi), Jolly Rovers (Perinthalmanna).

Pool B: DTDC (Bangalore), Central Excise (Chennai), Rural Development Trust (Anantapur), Cycle Brand Kids (Thiruvananthapuram).

The scores (first phase final): Cycle Brand Kids, Thiruvananthapuram 314 in 41.4 overs (Bijumon 116, Rohan Prem 101) bt Jolly Rovers, Perinthalmana 194 in 37.2 oves (Yashik 44, Renjith five for 51). - Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper