Kozhikode’s Pinto breaks three-year-old 110m hurdles record

  • Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Jessy Joseph.— Photo: Thulasi Kakkat
Jessy Joseph.— Photo: Thulasi Kakkat

Kozhikode’s Pinto Mathew broke the three-year-old men’s 110m hurdles record in the 57th Kerala State senior athletics championship which concluded at the Maharaja’s Stadium here on Saturday.

While Pinto had it easy, Kozhikode’s junior national star Jessy Joseph had to stave off a strong challenge from Ernakulam’s Ambika Sreedharan before winning the women’s 800m gold.

The 17-year-old, from the Usha School of Athletics, appeared to be in a bit of trouble as Ambika led the bunch with a strong lead into the home stretch. But Jessy shifted gears with about 40m to go, to move past Ambika and pocket the gold.

Meanwhile, in the Olympian Suresh Babu memorial third State youth championship, Palakkad’s P. Mohammed Afsal looked the most impressive as he won the 800m by a huge margin and rewrote the under-18 meet record by nearly three seconds.

The winners (State senior championship): Men: 200m: Rahul G. Pillai (Tvm) 21.6s. 800m: Tinu Joseph (Ktm) 1:54.1s. 5000m: Anil G. Pawar (Wyd) 14:58.8s.

110m hurdles: Pinto Mathew (Kzd) 14.3s NR, OR 14.5. 400m hurdles: Shejil Varghese (Ekm) 52.89s.

20,000m race walk: K. Pramod (Pkd) 1:39.7s.

3000m steeple chase: Kuriakose Mathew (Ktm) 9:36.4s.

4x400m relay: Kottayam (3:35.1s). High jump: Sreenith Mohan (Ekm) 2.16m, OR 2.11.

Triple jump: K. Sreejith Mon (Alp) 15.30m. Discus: E. Rahul Ratheesh (Kzd) 45.20m NR, OR 44.62. Javelin: K. Tony Mathew (Ekm) 55.48m. Decathlon: Dhaneesh Stephen (Ktm) 5882 pts.

Women: 200m: V. Santhini (Pkd) 24.7s. 800m: Jessy Joseph (Kzd) 2:14.6s. 5000m: P.U. Chitra (Pkd) 19:30.8s.

400m hurdles: Jojimol Joseph (Tvm) 1:03.37s. 20,000m race walk: K.M. Meeshma (Pkd) 2:03:25.7s. 3000m steeple chase: M.V. Remeswari (Pkd) 11:31.1s.

Triple jump: Jenimol Joy (Tvm) 12.29m. Discus: Reemanath (Klm) 35.55m. Javelin: N.V. Sheena (Ekm) 41.02m. Heptathlon: K.D. Sindhu (Tsr) 4757 pts.

Overall points position: 1. Palakkad (188 pts), 2. Kozhikode (93), 3. Kottayam (85), 4. Ernakulam (68), 5. Thiruvananthapuram (58).

State youth (under-18) championship: Boys: 200m: Salbin Joseph (Kzd) 23.1s. 800m: P. Mohammed Afsal (Pkd) 1:56.7s NR, OR 1:59.72. 110m hurdles: Maymon Poulose (Tsr) 15.5s. 400m hurdles: M.P. Jabir (Mlp) 56.5s. 2000m steeple chase: J. Satheesh (Pkd) 6:28.8s NR, OR 6:37.33. High jump: Jefin Biju (Tvm) 1.83m. Triple jump: N. Abdulla Aboobacker (Pkd) 13.95m. Discus: Nikhil Neethin (Pkd) 38.63m. Octathlon: R. Renjith (Tvm) 3987 pts. Medley relay: Idukki (2:07.9s).

Girls: 200m: A.P. Shilbi (Alp) 26.4s. 800m: Oliviya Ann Maria Thomas (Ekm) 2:18.5s. 400m hurdles: Anjaly Jose (Ktm) 1:06s NR, OR 1:06.59. High jump: T.C. Cheshma (Pkd) 1.53 NR, OR 1.50.

Triple jump: Athira Surendran (Knr) 11.73m NR, OR 11.57. Discus: K.M. Amritha (Pkd) 27.65m NR, OR 27.55. Heptathlon: Dibi Sebastian (Ktm) 3562 pts.

Overall championship: 1. Ernakulam (183 pts), 2. Kottayam 9135), 3. Palakkad (113), 4. Thiruvananthapuram (70), 5. Wayanad (50).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Saina overcomes Sun Yu’s challenge

BADMINTON / Srikanth and Jwala & Ashwini bow out »